Saturday, 22 February, 2014 - 22:06
30
by RoisinK

Recently I have been playing games with my conversation classes to liven things up a bit and to get the conversation flowing.

Friday, 31 January, 2014 - 20:46
57
by JoR

My challenge for you is this: to read a book for 15 minutes every single day for a month.

Saturday, 25 January, 2014 - 16:26
9

The UK is well known for choosing to keep the pound sterling when many other European countries started using the Euro.

Thursday, 14 November, 2013 - 10:42
50
by JaredT

When I was at primary school, summers holidays meant football with friends, countless PlayStation1 (wow I feel old...) sessions and more importantly no homework.

Wednesday, 6 November, 2013 - 15:54
40
by KatieP

What is the point in writing a diary? At home, I never write about my days.

Wednesday, 6 November, 2013 - 11:39
17

So here I am abroad in a country not too dissimilar from my own. Much of the culture is in common and I don’t think I’ve made too many faux pas.

Friday, 1 November, 2013 - 13:41
17


Ever heard of Philip Pullman? Let me introduce you. Philip Pullman is an English writer who is widely considered as a brilliant. I agree.

Saturday, 26 October, 2013 - 01:58
6
by IainG

Everyone was shocked when I said I was moving to Colombia, away on another continent.  Everyone except for my literature-loving friends: “Perfect,” they said, “An excuse to read ‘One Hundred Years

Thursday, 17 October, 2013 - 14:37
29

I study English literature at university and have always been proud of Britain’s literary heritage. Some British authors that you may have heard of are Charles Dickens and Jane Austen.

Sunday, 13 October, 2013 - 16:00
31
by RachelF

It's a funny thing, being in another country. It makes you appreciate all the things you love about your home, whether it be the food, the traditions, or the people.

Monday, 23 September, 2013 - 12:32
12
by AnnaM

Call me old fashioned, traditionalist or just a technophobe but the new wave of e-readers such as Kindles, Kobos and Nooks scares me.

Friday, 6 September, 2013 - 09:51
38
by EmilyM

I have loved writing since I was a young girl; stories, poems, songs, anything. Now I’m a lot older, I get my inspiration for writing from many things and I’m going to share them with you.

Sunday, 28 July, 2013 - 16:18
59

I think some of my previous blog posts have alluded to the fact that I am a keen reader and really promote it among learners of English.

Wednesday, 15 May, 2013 - 20:34
36

I have always loved reading and writing, and both of those things seem to run in our family. We all love a good book, and there is even a writer amongst us!

Tuesday, 19 March, 2013 - 17:08
84

William Shakespeare is known across the world as the writer of plays such as Romeo and Juliet and Hamlet, and as one of the most famous British people ever.

Monday, 12 November, 2012 - 14:29
69

For those of you who do not know what a Kindle is, it is a product from Amazon which allows you to download books and read them anywhere, at home, at work, on a journey, without having to carry aro

Wednesday, 30 May, 2012 - 09:37
35

To Kill A Mocking Bird is always on those lists of ‘books you must read before you die’. These lists often make me feel guilty as I put off reading classic novels for something a little lighter.

Saturday, 26 May, 2012 - 01:41
81

If you're reading this magazine, then chances are you're a young learner of English as a Foreign Language, and are probably interested in reading too.

Friday, 18 May, 2012 - 18:27
20

‘When you’re small you’re like a piece of paper with nothing written on it.

Wednesday, 9 May, 2012 - 07:37
24

Alice in Wonderland (along with Through the Looking Glass) is one of the most famous children’s books of all time.

Pages

Subscribe to Books