Thursday, 13 November, 2014 - 11:23
2
by AnneS

In the UK, the seeds of horse chestnut trees are called “conkers” and, for me, the first conker of the season signals the start of autumn.

Wednesday, 12 November, 2014 - 11:21
1
by MeganH

So far my time in France has been like a rollercoaster, I’ve had my ups and my downs. I have been living in France for almost two months and I’m definitely becoming homesick.

Monday, 10 November, 2014 - 16:07
7

Last weekend I visited a zoo with a friend. Whilst there, we debated whether or not zoos were a good thing. When I was little, I loved going to the zoo. Now, aged 20, I still enjoy visiting them.

Monday, 3 November, 2014 - 14:09
1

I have always found that watching television series and films in the language which you are learning a very helpful exercise.

Wednesday, 22 October, 2014 - 13:43
2

I am currently living and teaching in Colmar, Alsace. Last week, Colmar hosted its 19th film festival.

Wednesday, 1 October, 2014 - 12:15
4

The fifth series of the popular period drama Downton Abbey has just started in the UK, but why does it attract so many viewers?

Monday, 11 August, 2014 - 10:13
8
by IainG

Edinburgh is a fantastic city for tourists. There are so many things to do here for people of all ages.

Saturday, 12 July, 2014 - 14:57
8

Have you ever heard of soap operas? They are fictional series on television or radio that follow a group of families and show us the events of their everyday lives.

Wednesday, 9 July, 2014 - 11:46
9
by ReganS

Like many people, if anyone asks me what my favourite films are I always struggle to answer.

Monday, 23 June, 2014 - 22:26
8

Talent competitions are very popular on British television.

Sunday, 22 June, 2014 - 18:23
2
by ReganS

I always struggle when someone asks me what my favourite movie is. I can't choose just one! However there are a small number of filmmakers whose films I always love.

Monday, 19 May, 2014 - 12:27
9
by HannahW

I am coming towards the end of my stay in Salzburg and couldn’t leave without writing about The Sound of Music. The film was set in Salzburg, but most Austrians have never seen it.

Thursday, 27 February, 2014 - 16:15
17
After living in Paris for five months, I feel that I have visited the most famous tourist attractions numerous times.
Monday, 10 February, 2014 - 12:08
41
by TeresaC

Tongue twisters are word games which are fantastic to improve your pronunciation when speaking English!

Thursday, 6 February, 2014 - 15:15
33
by GraceL

A couple of friends and I, spontaneously decided that we would go to Berlin this weekend to attend the Berlinale, an international film festival.

Monday, 20 January, 2014 - 19:23
23
by DanielT

When I was young, I dreamed of becoming many things. Sometimes, I wished I was an astronaut going up into space, finding new planets and jumping around in a cool space suit.

Friday, 17 January, 2014 - 15:33
17

In the Christmas holidays, I went to the cinema with a group of friends to see the second film in the Hobbit series, directed by Peter Jackson.

Sunday, 12 January, 2014 - 20:41
24
by GraceE

Many people used to consider art to be paintings of fields with flowers, portraits of old-fashioned men in top hats, or pictures of bowls of fruit.

Friday, 10 January, 2014 - 11:41
15
by KatieP

Sherlock Holmes is a fictional detective who, since his creation in 1887 by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, has appeared in many books, films, TV series and also games.

Monday, 16 December, 2013 - 15:50
30
by TeresaC

Last weekend, I went on a trip to Sete, a small seaside town in the south of France. I went with a French friend, and I stayed with her family who lives there.

Pages

Subscribe to Entertainment