Tuesday, 29 September, 2015 - 16:31
40
by AbiH

If you had told me two years ago that I would be moving to a different country for a year, I probably would have laughed in your face.

Monday, 7 September, 2015 - 16:42
2

When I arrived in Barranquilla, in Colombia, with a fairly decent understanding of the Spanish language (a degree in modern languages does normally help a bit) I was expecting to be generally OK.

Friday, 21 August, 2015 - 18:21
14

One rainy afternoon I was sitting at home feeling so bored. Instead of feeling sorry for myself, I wanted to meet people and have new experiences so I decided to start volunteering.

Tuesday, 11 August, 2015 - 23:28
11
by BlakeS

In this post I would like to introduce the city where I live, Portsmouth. It’s a very busy and modern city located on the south coast of England.

Sunday, 2 August, 2015 - 21:17
2
by KatB

'That's Zazu, over there.' 

Thursday, 30 July, 2015 - 22:24
12

At the moment, I'm doing an internship in London.

Wednesday, 8 July, 2015 - 11:48
9
by BlakeS

I have too much stuff. My bedroom is often very messy. I have shelves cluttered with dusty books I never read and CDs I don’t listen to. My drawers are crammed with clothes I never wear.

Wednesday, 8 July, 2015 - 11:38
7
by BlakeS

The UK is divided up into smaller regions called ‘counties’. My hometown is in the county of Hampshire, which is located in the south-east of England.

Monday, 6 July, 2015 - 11:14
8
by JohnR

Well I am now back home. It is quite surprising how very little has changed even after so long but there is still a lot of things get used to again!

Friday, 3 July, 2015 - 15:24
6
by BlakeS

I’ve been really lucky this year.

Wednesday, 1 July, 2015 - 12:14
3

With over seven billion people living on our planet today, it's easy to think that one person's actions won't make a difference.

Wednesday, 24 June, 2015 - 10:23
18
by BlakeS

I just could not fall asleep the other night. I just didn’t feel sleepy. I can't explain why, but it was really annoying.

Monday, 22 June, 2015 - 10:29
11
by BlakeS

Thinking about my time in France, I noticed quite a few differences between the French and the English. While I was working at a French school, I was often in the staff room preparing my work.

Saturday, 6 June, 2015 - 16:33
4
by AnneS

I have just finished my job as a teaching assistant in France and there are a few weeks before I will start my new job in Brussels.

Monday, 1 June, 2015 - 13:20
38
by ChloeF

As Audrey Hepburn once said “Paris is always a good idea”, and from having lived just outside this city the past year I must say I completely agree.

Wednesday, 20 May, 2015 - 17:44
3

1. Murcia

Tuesday, 19 May, 2015 - 11:28
2
by BlakeS

Have you heard about the Lascaux cave? The cave is located near a town called Montignac in southern France.

Tuesday, 12 May, 2015 - 18:52
11
by JohnR

As the programme comes to an end across Europe, all of the Language Assistants are looking to the future.

Thursday, 7 May, 2015 - 13:50
6
by JulieG

I have to be honest, life in Vienna is pretty great.

Tuesday, 5 May, 2015 - 09:14
5
by BlakeS

In the United Kingdom, a general election must take place every five years.

Pages

Subscribe to Life around the world