Look at the essay and do the exercises to improve your writing skills.

38
Total votes: 1057
Language level: 

Discussion

Are video games really a good way to keep fit? What do you think?

Comments

Seba9441's picture
23x
5x
Seba9441 6 June, 2017 - 10:07

When I was a little kid I actaully began to sweat, while playing Wii video games.
I would recommend people to do this, but I would myself rather go outside and be active. But if people don't like bad weather and they live a place where there is bad weather all the time it's a good way to stay fit.

up
4 users have voted.
SLMT's picture
932x
152x
SLMT 4 June, 2017 - 01:48

Playing video games becomes very popular in 90s in my country.Everything has pros and cons.First of all,I would like to tell advantage of playing video games.It can help u connect with people around the world.U can communicate with by sitting on a chair.Even ur fri is far away from u,u can also play with him.Some of the games are based on World War.We can learn history from it.On the other hand,there's many disadvantages of them.Playing video games will make u unhealthy.Sitting for a long time will trouble ur back and joints.Seeing bright screen for hours make u near sight.Furthermore,it can turn u coach potato.Even if u can connect people around the world,they are not ur real friend.They are just on eletrical device.We can't trust them like ur best friend.And playing video games will bring u communication and social problems.In my opinion,playing outside is the best one.U can talk ur friends each other.Physical exercise can make u fit and breathe fresh air.There's no more back and joint problems,eye sight problems and coach potato,if u play outside.So for me,playing outside is the best.

up
7 users have voted.
MyStudyCoachJonas's picture
696x
42x
MyStudyCoachJonas 25 May, 2017 - 23:15

I like the Wii console, my favourites games are the sports games but I think that is important to do sport to be fit and have a good physical condition.
All Sundays I go to do sport in my parcour class.

up
12 users have voted.
Godofuniverse's picture
16x
1x
Godofuniverse 17 May, 2017 - 12:25

I think it depends depends on the person and the people around her, because sugar are games with a limitation can be interesting because you meet many people from different countries to practice and learn English and others, also do not think it be many hours since otherwise you lose people in real life and I think it should be a medium to play games with friends and stayed with friends. It depends on the person I think would be good.

up
16 users have voted.
gncmrm's picture
28x
1x
gncmrm 5 May, 2017 - 09:59

Hi everyone,
First of all, I think that some people thought that there are a small number of people that play videogames, this is what, sometimes the fathers say. But they don't know, that there ara a lot of people that play videogames nowadays.
I think that videogames are good for the people. One positive point is that videogames are a method of entertainment, but there is some people that plays all the day and this are not a entertainment it turns into a bad habit to the person.
Another positive point, I think, that some videogames can teach you with a different way, for exemple some shooting games have a previous history with the World War and others. And you, playing it can learn the history.
In addition, i think that when a person took the videogames with a bad habit will have a eyesight with others points for exemple the point that they could turn into a fat person because this person don't do fit. Speaking about that (the issue of the article), I think that If you play a sporty game, for exemple the basic games of the Wii Console, you can do exercise with these games. But by other hand, if you go out to do sport somewhere you can do a good exercise, and you could disconect of the screen and the house.

To sum up, sorry for go up and up with the comment but I think that i have to detail the things that I don't like.

Gerard

up
27 users have voted.
francarrioncmrm16's picture
16x
1x
francarrioncmrm16 5 May, 2017 - 09:57

I think that do exercise inside using an active gaming is sometimes better than do the exercise outside, because if your friends are far away, is complicated to go with they, so play with video games is better because if the game is online you can play anytime with your friends and you can plug-in a webcam and play like you are next to the friend.

up
16 users have voted.
PaulS's picture
18x
1x
PaulS 5 May, 2017 - 09:48

I think that meet friends outside is better than play video games. In my opinion, it's not very weel for the children to stay in front of a screen all the day, because it cause eyes and back problems and addition so a lot of teens don't meet they're friends because they're playing video games. Some people think is better to go outside with your friends, to meet they or to do exercice because to play all the day causes so many problems. I belive that the video games are good to socializing with other people that in other places of the world and know new cultures, and in a rainy day when you can't go outside you can play video games.

up
17 users have voted.
Ken's picture
60677x
861x
Ken 7 May, 2017 - 13:25

I agree with you, Thomas the Tank Engine!
✲゚。.(✿╹◡╹)ノ☆.。₀:*゚✲゚*:₀。

Meet the Thomas and Friends ٩(๑❛ᴗ❛๑)۶
& Day out with Thomas! ☝( ◠‿◠ )☝
 

up
11 users have voted.
GerardMasdeu's picture
13x
1x
GerardMasdeu 5 May, 2017 - 09:45

In my opinion i think the type of games like just dance that forces to move to make points and win the game are losing popularity because the are other games that are more fun and you dont have to stan up of the sit.

up
13 users have voted.
gfrancesch16's picture
18x
1x
gfrancesch16 5 May, 2017 - 09:35

I think that playing outside your house is much better than play video games. At first place, it is bad for your eyes and it can give you headache if you are looking the screen all the time. But if you don't play a lot of time is pretty good to play online with your friends for a time. But you don't have to play a lot of time with videogames, you have to go outside your house, meet your friends and have a good time.

up
18 users have voted.
Linhhoang's picture
90x
1x
Linhhoang 9 January, 2017 - 02:46

In my oppinion, i think that playing outside is much better than video games. Firstly, it is not good for your eyes if you pay attention in the desktop, it takes you eyestrain and with a longtime can make you near sighted.. in addition, it is not real, so maybe you are good in games. But in the fact, you dont know how to play it well outside. And if you play outside, you can breath the clearly air and act more so it is very good for your healthy.

up
84 users have voted.
booksworm's picture
146x
4x
booksworm 28 October, 2016 - 21:28

In my opinion some kind of video games can be of help for lazy people. For example PokemonGo became really popular last summer and pushed lots of "gamers" to go out and find pokemons. The same happened when Wii Fit first came out. Playing a video game isn't the same as going out and running, or playing volleyball or swimming, but it's at least something. A small step to become more and more fit.

up
68 users have voted.
Elsa007's picture
74889x
987x
Elsa007 22 February, 2016 - 09:57

Could someone tell me what type of video game is a good way to keep fit? Or popular? I'd like to know it more.☆

up
124 users have voted.
shaima's picture
261x
2x
shaima 20 February, 2016 - 21:43

In my view video games are not really good way to keep fit. Someone can not play them them all time because that one will got bored. But doing various sports are always active and much more healthy.

up
104 users have voted.
shaima's picture
261x
2x
shaima 20 February, 2016 - 21:35

Well, I'd prefer doing various sports outside home because they are more active for body and mind. While video games may affect our mind badly or make our body lazy.

up
103 users have voted.
vieht's picture
1867x
26x
vieht 23 September, 2015 - 03:30

I also think that doing exercises at home is a good idea, imagine if outside is so contaminated! Ugh
Also, you can play whatever you want, if you get bored with something you can change everyday. Great!

up
122 users have voted.
hossam's picture
671x
5x
hossam 12 July, 2015 - 04:17

i agree his opining already mention in that essay but we should meeting for playing in real live because the encourage us for go deep down for our relationship.
be honest with you i am one who don't deal with video games .

up
134 users have voted.
sssaleh's picture
1850x
13x
sssaleh 8 July, 2015 - 23:27

In my opinion ,active viedeo games are not enough to keep fit ., we need to play sports out side home
that well help us to meet a new freinds and learn us how work as a team . In addition we need to breath afrish air.
But if the weather is bad ,we dont have another choose rather than stay at home and play active games.

up
126 users have voted.
leevica's picture
543x
5x
leevica 4 June, 2015 - 05:01

Video games are atractive so the active video games are both atractive and good for your health. It's a good way to keep fit and you can do it indoor. So convinient!

up
127 users have voted.
MakaKun's picture
711x
3x
MakaKun 23 February, 2015 - 13:33

So i'm spending the most of my time on computer games. I play games where you don't need to move your body alot.. Are there special things you should do to not hurt your back as much as you do while sitting in your chair.. Back problems is a normal problem with kids nowadays and a good way to fix your back hurt would really help them as well as myself.

up
186 users have voted.
MakaKun's picture
711x
3x
MakaKun 19 February, 2015 - 10:22

Can't really understand how its good for your health to play games... I play games really often maybe because i'm not in a sport that i don't understand?

up
166 users have voted.
JoEditor's picture
100318x
705x
JoEditor 19 February, 2015 - 14:35

Hi MakaKun,
The article refers to 'active video games' like the ones where you do a sport or dance. These video games are probably better for you than just sitting on the sofa. 
What type of games do you play? 
Best wishes, Jo. 

up
165 users have voted.
chitabby's picture
570x
3x
chitabby 22 November, 2014 - 04:45

please help me writing an essay : what are advantages and disadvantages of working in the same place as other members of your family? give reaseon or examples to support your opinion?

up
237 users have voted.
Fnm123's picture
1099x
4x
Fnm123 9 November, 2014 - 23:40

Well nowadays all of most of the kids not only teenagers uses videogames so for them it is good to keep feed on them, but their mother of father are not in accordance because they pass all the time there and they don't socializing.

First of all, i think that video games are a good way of keep fit and in an other way it isn't. It is because i think that the video games sometimes have games that can help your mind and they are some of them that you have to stand up in front of the tv or video game and do what the game is asking you to do.

In addition, some people think that the video games are bad for us because we don' t socialize and we don't do what other guys do, play football on streets, or talk with friends, etc. and that is why i can also think that they are bad and don't keep fit.

To sum up, i believe that video games are so so, because they are a good way to keep fit doing exercise in your house. But you can't do exercises with friends.

up
192 users have voted.
chitabby's picture
570x
3x
chitabby 22 November, 2014 - 04:45

please help me writing an essay : what are advantages and disadvantages of working in the same place as other members of your family? give reaseon or examples to support your opinion?

up
189 users have voted.
JoEditor's picture
100318x
705x
JoEditor 24 November, 2014 - 13:30

Hi chitabby,
There are lots of examples of essays in our writing section where the writer gives an opinion. Please have a look at those examples to help you. We can't write your essay for you, but there is a lot of useful help and advice on the site. You may want to look in the Exam writing section too. 
Best wishes, Jo (LearnEnglish Teens Team) 

up
243 users have voted.
Jonathan - Coordinator's picture
103746x
774x
Jonathan - Coor... 10 November, 2014 - 03:03

Hi! I thought you wrote a good essay. Well done :) 

I agree that most kids and teenagers play games nowadays, especially on their phones. How about you? Do you play video games? If you do, what sort of games do you like? 

Jonathan (LearnEnglish Teens Team)

up
184 users have voted.

Pages