Look at the film review and do the exercises to improve your writing skills.

19
Total votes: 255
Language level: 

Discussion

What films have you seen lately? What did you think? Tell us about a film you've seen. But don't give away the ending!

Comments

lauti_delma's picture
0x
0x
lauti_delma 6 September, 2018 - 12:09

Review the book of life
The book of life is a movie from 2014 and is one of the best animated films.
The story begins with a group of five children punished and a museum guide, this teaches a secret room dedicated to Mexican folklore, within which is "the Book of Life." She tells them a story about the book about a relationship between the three friends Manolo, Joaquin and Maria. Manolo to know that Maria leaves for Spain to educate himself, concentrates on his career as a bullfighter, but this later will not be possible because of his sensitive heart.
the story takes place in the city of "San Angel", the world of the remembered and the world of the forgotten.
I recommend this film, because it has two teachings that caught my attention, the first is true love never dies and the second is anyone can die, but you need courage to live.

Lautaro

up
1 user has voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 10:03

Hi lauti_delma,
Thanks for your comment but I have had to edit it because the information was copied from another website or put through a translation tool, and this breaks our house rules.
Please remember to add content that is your original work and do not copy ideas or information without saying where it came from.
Why not have a go and tell us about the topic in your own words?
Thanks,
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens Team)
up
0 users have voted.
milotoffalo's picture
0x
0x
milotoffalo 6 September, 2018 - 12:04

We are talking a book of life.
this movie is about two best friends fight for the love of a woman, one of them is a musician and other is a soldier.Different from everything that has been seen in animated films. I really liked the animation style and the story itself.It's a wonderful Mexican movie. I liked a lot.
Milo Toffalo

up
0 users have voted.
nmmpm2018's picture
0x
0x
nmmpm2018 5 September, 2018 - 17:30

REVIEW OF “THE BOOK OF LIFE”
“The book of life” is a cartoon and rom-com film. Released in 2014 created by Jorge R. Gutierrez. The story begins with a group of five children punished and a museum guide. The museum guide showed a mistery book, the book of life. The book talking about history of Mexico.
One of the histories talking about three friends, Manolo Sanchez, Joaquin Mondragon and Maria Posadas. Manolo and Joaquin competing over the love of Maria. The tradition of the Sanchez is be a bullfighter, but Manolo wants be a musician.
The film is set in many locations: San Angel, The land of the remembered and The land of the forgotten. The soundtrack is very cool, accompanies the movie.
I recommend it because it is a movie for all ages, is very funny and emotional at the same time.

Nicolas M. and Martin P.M.

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 10:08

Hi nmmpm2018 
Welcome to LearnEnglish teens! I have noticed that there are two of you using the same account to write your comments. Please can you create separate accounts for each user? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people.
Thanks a lot and I hope you all enjoy the site!
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens team)

up
0 users have voted.
milotoffalo's picture
0x
0x
milotoffalo 5 September, 2018 - 17:20

this movie is about two best friends who fight for the love of a woman, one of them is a musician and the other is a fighter. I was impressed with its wonderful plot and excellent special effects.

up
1 user has voted.
durama's picture
0x
0x
durama 5 September, 2018 - 17:18

Review of "The Book of Life"

The book of Life is a film of Manolo, a youngish man who wants to fulfil the expectations of this family but also to follow his heart. He goes on an adventure It's an animated film. In this film Manolo figt with Joaquín( his friend) for the hand of María. Mateo and Nicolas

up
1 user has voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 09:43

Hi durama,
Welcome to LearnEnglish teens! Thanks for your comment but I have edited it because the information was copied from another website or put through a translation tool, and this breaks our house rules. Just a reminder:
Do not share content that is not yours
Only add content that is your original work.
Do not copy ideas or information without saying where it came from.
Could you tell us about topic in your own words?

I also noticed that there are three of you using the same account - please can you create separate accounts for each user? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people. Thanks a lot and I hope you all enjoy the site!
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens team)

up
0 users have voted.
maru's picture
0x
0x
maru 5 September, 2018 - 17:13

We are talking about "The Book of Life". The movie is the best animated film what we have ever see. This is about a legend that happens in Mexico where the world of the dead was divided into two. The world of the forgotten and the world of the remembered. This story covers different situations that the characters live. These charactes are Manolo; who descendant of bullfigthers, Maria; daughter of the mayor of the town, Joaquin; son of the hero of the town.They are friends since they were childhood. What will happen between them?
We recommend this movie because, the scenary and re special effects are very incredible! The characters are well producer and also their environment. The movie is very entertaining and funny. Anyway, the movie has some morals for the real life.
Marsol, L y. Nicolas, A

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 10:16

Hi maru!
Thank you for posting on LearnEnglish Teens! I've noticed that there are two of you using the same account. Please could you create separate accounts for each of you? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people. Thanks so much for doing this.
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens Team

up
0 users have voted.
ana9701's picture
0x
0x
ana9701 5 September, 2018 - 16:52

The book of life it is a story like a legend of two childrens, Manolo and Joaquín, who live in a traditional Mexican town and compete for the love of María. Behind that bet are also two spirits, La Muerte and Xibalba, who will take part for each young man, tipping the scales for some of them to know who will conquer the sweet Maria.
We would recommend it because it is a very beautiful story and has a very striking message

Lara, Analia, Carolina

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 09:23

Hi ana9701 
Welcome to LearnEnglish teens! Please can you create separate accounts for each user? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people. Thanks a lot and I hope you all enjoy the site! :)
Tina  (LearnEnglish Teens team)

up
0 users have voted.
GlebGrunichev's picture
0x
0x
GlebGrunichev 21 June, 2018 - 12:18

"Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom" is a new fantasy action film. Owen Grady (Chris Pratt ) and Claire Dearing (Bryce Dallas Howard) are going to save dinosaurs. This is a really fantastic film.
In the beginning of the plot, Eli Mills is organising an expedition to save dinosaurs. But when they save the dinosaurs, there are some problems. Also, the grand-daughter of the company's director understands a terrible thing about herself! But the dinosaurs ran away. What is going to happen next?
This film is a rebirth of the first part. It is very amazing because it is really hard to make 3D models of dinosaurs and the volcano. The actors perform well, too.
I really advise you to see this film because it is interesting and sometimes spooky, but the combination makes the best films.

up
1 user has voted.
Jonathan - Coordinator's picture
105873x
779x
Jonathan - Coor... 22 June, 2018 - 03:19

Good review, GlebGrunichev. This film is showing at the cinema now. I'll check it out :)

Jonathan (LearnEnglish Teens Team)

up
0 users have voted.
linolo09's picture
863x
17x
linolo09 23 September, 2016 - 08:17

The last movie I watched was Pacific rim. It's an incredible movie with an intense plot and likeable characters. It's about a rift that opened in the pacific ocean and let out monsters called 'Kaiju's'. These monsters begin to destroy bigger cities that are close to the ocean and humanity is forced to fight back. They do this by creating giant robots that are called 'Jaeger's'. The control a Jaeger you need to link your brain to the machine but you can't do it alone. So you do it with a partner. The story revolves around one of these Jaeger pilots. I really liked this movie and can't wait to see the next one.

up
79 users have voted.
Tony2003's picture
3344x
23x
Tony2003 1 November, 2015 - 10:16

Recently,I do not go to watch any movies since 2014,but if I remember the name,that movie is''Furious 7''
I do not remember anything,so,sorry

up
74 users have voted.
AnaB's picture
27278x
144x
AnaB 15 June, 2014 - 10:29

The last movie I have seen is The Hunger Games"Catching Fire" .
The Hunger Games"Catching Fire" was released in 2013. The main characters are Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen and Josh Hutcherson as Peeta Mellark.
A year after winning the 74th Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen and her partner, Peeta Mellark must go on what is known as the Victor's Tour wherein they visit all the districts. But befoore leaving, Katniss is visited by President Snow who fears that Katniss defied him a year ago during the games when she chose to die with Peta. With both Katniss and Peeta declared the winners, it is fueling a possible uprising. He tells Katniss that while on tour she better try to make sure that she puts out the flames or else everyone she cares about will be in danger. But unfortunately she fails to do that. So Snow decides to enact what is known as the Quarter Quell, the right to make a change to The Hunger Games, which he is allowed to do every 25 years. He decide to hold an edition of the Hunger Games wherein previous winners will compete again. Their mentor Haymitch thinks their best chance to survive is form an alliance with some of the others. They decide to alig n themselves with Finnick and his..
This movie is great.
At the first view it doesn't look so interesting. Well I throw that it was boring. But I sat and start to watch. I was so enthused. You won't regret if you watch it. :)

up
79 users have voted.
sona's picture
11332x
124x
sona 15 May, 2016 - 13:47

Wow,it sounds like a fantastic film . I have watched the first movie of 'Hunger Games' and I was impressed with its wonderful plot and excellent special effects. Unfortunately,I haven't watched the second film for different reasons. However,relating to your review I am sure it is a film to watch. Thank you for sharing this information and what's important ,thank you for not revealing the end.

up
75 users have voted.