Look at the film review and do the exercises to improve your writing skills.

25
Total votes: 255
Language level: 

Discussion

What films have you seen lately? What did you think? Tell us about a film you've seen. But don't give away the ending!

Comments

AGUSTINAP's picture
0x
0x
AGUSTINAP 13 November, 2018 - 00:41

Wall-e is one of the best Robots film. Directed by Andrew Stanton and produced by Walt Disney Pictures and Pixar Animation Studios. The plot follows a robot called WALL E, who was designed to clean the rubbish that covers the Earth after it was ruined by human beings. He falls in love with EVA, another robot type, which is sent to the planet to investigate if there are signs of life. Once she reaches her goal, EVA quickly goes to the ship called, Axiom. WALL E follows her to outer space.
The film was set in United Estates. The Soundtrack is from the 2008 Disney-Pixar film of the same name by Walt Disney Records on June 24, 2008.
I would higly recomend Wall-e if you like the adventures and robots. Iam sure you ‘ll like it a lot

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 13 November, 2018 - 09:17

Hi AGUSTINAP.
Thanks for your comment but I have edited it because the information was copied from another website or put through a translation tool, and this breaks our house rules.
Just a reminder:
  • Do not share content that is not yours
  • Only add content that is your original work.
  • Do not copy ideas or information without saying where it came from.
Could you tell us about topic in your own words? Thanks,
Name Tina (LearnEnglish Teens Team)
up
0 users have voted.
Delfi236's picture
0x
0x
Delfi236 8 November, 2018 - 21:56

Review English Cinderella(2015)
Cinderella (2015) it’s a retelling of the classic fairy tale, the classic animated movie, in live action form. Starring by Lily James and directed by Kenneth Branagh I found this movie very entertaining.
The movie follows the story of Ella whose father remarries after her mom’s death. Ella welcomes her new stepmother and her daughters, Anastasia and Drisella into her home. But when her father suddenly passes away, she discovered the cruelty of her new family.
One day she meets a stranger in the woods, she didn’t know the he is really a prince; Ella feels that she has met a kindred soul. It appears as if her fortunes may be change when the palace sends an open invitation for all the ladies to attend a ball.
Ella’s stepmother forbids her to attend, but as all fairy tales help is near as a kindly woman…
I love this film, I doubt it can be bettered. I highly recommend it, because it is well acted and it’s fun for the whole family. Finally I can say that Cate Blanchett, Lily James and Helena Bonham Carter were amazing in their roles.

up
0 users have voted.
JereGior's picture
0x
0x
JereGior 8 November, 2018 - 18:38

I think the best movie of action and science fiction was Pacific of the Rim. It was released in 2013 and it stars Charlie Hunnman as a machine’s pilot or Jaeger, Raliegh Becket and Mana Ashido in the role of Mako Mori, his machine´s couple pilot.

The plots involve Kaijus who are a big beasts. They try to destroy the world and the couple of Becket and Ashido, and other Jaegers, has to prevent this from happening. There are a lot of action scenes and epic fights as the Jaegers pursues they around the world.

This film was set in Hong Kong and the soundtrack is so exciting and includes part of the song of the main theme created by Ramin Djawadi. The acting is also of computer effects and Ashido bring his life with a tragic performance.

I would highly recommend Pacific of the Rim, especially for the lover of action, robots and fights, and can be recommended for person who are interesting on the science and machines. It will you on the edge of your seat until the end and I am sure you are going to like it and see it again.

up
0 users have voted.
mariela's picture
0x
0x
mariela 25 October, 2018 - 19:17

Artificial Inteligence is one of the best cince fiction films. Released in 2001, it stars Halley Joel Osmet as David who is a robot-boy and Brendan Gleeson in the role of Lord Johnson-Johnson, the villan in this film.

The plot involves a flood produced by the global warming. The necessity of food produce that the cybertronics's company make robots-children who can love to their adoptive families. Can these families love too?

The film is set in the location of United Estates. The soundtrack includes the music performed by John Williams who won an award. The acting is impressed and Jude Law won a golden globe for the best actor in the film because his performance is excellent.

I would higly recomend Artificial Intelligence, if you are a big fan of cience fiction films and the robots. I'm pretty sure that you won't regret of watch this film.

up
0 users have voted.
iglesiasjuli's picture
0x
0x
iglesiasjuli 13 November, 2018 - 22:26

The terminator is one of the best action and science fiction flims. Released in 1984, it stars Arnold Shwarzenegger, the villian in this film.
The plot involves a terminator is a killer cyborg sent trought time to kill Sarah Connor. Kyle Reese, a soldier also sent from the future with the mission to protect Sarah. Can he get it?
The film is set in the location of Los Angeles, California and The soundtrack includes music reformed by Brad Fiedel. The acting is very good and because of the success they become more.
I would highly recommend the terminator if you like robots and fights. Im sure you will not regret waching it.

up
0 users have voted.
lauti_delma's picture
0x
0x
lauti_delma 6 September, 2018 - 12:09

Review the book of life
The book of life is a movie from 2014 and is one of the best animated films.
The story begins with a group of five children punished and a museum guide, this teaches a secret room dedicated to Mexican folklore, within which is "the Book of Life." She tells them a story about the book about a relationship between the three friends Manolo, Joaquin and Maria. Manolo to know that Maria leaves for Spain to educate himself, concentrates on his career as a bullfighter, but this later will not be possible because of his sensitive heart.
the story takes place in the city of "San Angel", the world of the remembered and the world of the forgotten.
I recommend this film, because it has two teachings that caught my attention, the first is true love never dies and the second is anyone can die, but you need courage to live.

Lautaro

up
1 user has voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 10:03

Hi lauti_delma,
Thanks for your comment but I have had to edit it because the information was copied from another website or put through a translation tool, and this breaks our house rules.
Please remember to add content that is your original work and do not copy ideas or information without saying where it came from.
Why not have a go and tell us about the topic in your own words?
Thanks,
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens Team)
up
0 users have voted.
milotoffalo's picture
0x
0x
milotoffalo 6 September, 2018 - 12:04

We are talking a book of life.
this movie is about two best friends fight for the love of a woman, one of them is a musician and other is a soldier.Different from everything that has been seen in animated films. I really liked the animation style and the story itself.It's a wonderful Mexican movie. I liked a lot.
Milo Toffalo

up
0 users have voted.
nmmpm2018's picture
0x
0x
nmmpm2018 5 September, 2018 - 17:30

REVIEW OF “THE BOOK OF LIFE”
“The book of life” is a cartoon and rom-com film. Released in 2014 created by Jorge R. Gutierrez. The story begins with a group of five children punished and a museum guide. The museum guide showed a mistery book, the book of life. The book talking about history of Mexico.
One of the histories talking about three friends, Manolo Sanchez, Joaquin Mondragon and Maria Posadas. Manolo and Joaquin competing over the love of Maria. The tradition of the Sanchez is be a bullfighter, but Manolo wants be a musician.
The film is set in many locations: San Angel, The land of the remembered and The land of the forgotten. The soundtrack is very cool, accompanies the movie.
I recommend it because it is a movie for all ages, is very funny and emotional at the same time.

Nicolas M. and Martin P.M.

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 10:08

Hi nmmpm2018 
Welcome to LearnEnglish teens! I have noticed that there are two of you using the same account to write your comments. Please can you create separate accounts for each user? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people.
Thanks a lot and I hope you all enjoy the site!
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens team)

up
0 users have voted.
milotoffalo's picture
0x
0x
milotoffalo 5 September, 2018 - 17:20

this movie is about two best friends who fight for the love of a woman, one of them is a musician and the other is a fighter. I was impressed with its wonderful plot and excellent special effects.

up
1 user has voted.
durama's picture
0x
0x
durama 5 September, 2018 - 17:18

Review of "The Book of Life"

The book of Life is a film of Manolo, a youngish man who wants to fulfil the expectations of this family but also to follow his heart. He goes on an adventure It's an animated film. In this film Manolo figt with Joaquín( his friend) for the hand of María. Mateo and Nicolas

up
1 user has voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 09:43

Hi durama,
Welcome to LearnEnglish teens! Thanks for your comment but I have edited it because the information was copied from another website or put through a translation tool, and this breaks our house rules. Just a reminder:
Do not share content that is not yours
Only add content that is your original work.
Do not copy ideas or information without saying where it came from.
Could you tell us about topic in your own words?

I also noticed that there are three of you using the same account - please can you create separate accounts for each user? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people. Thanks a lot and I hope you all enjoy the site!
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens team)

up
0 users have voted.
maru's picture
0x
0x
maru 5 September, 2018 - 17:13

We are talking about "The Book of Life". The movie is the best animated film what we have ever see. This is about a legend that happens in Mexico where the world of the dead was divided into two. The world of the forgotten and the world of the remembered. This story covers different situations that the characters live. These charactes are Manolo; who descendant of bullfigthers, Maria; daughter of the mayor of the town, Joaquin; son of the hero of the town.They are friends since they were childhood. What will happen between them?
We recommend this movie because, the scenary and re special effects are very incredible! The characters are well producer and also their environment. The movie is very entertaining and funny. Anyway, the movie has some morals for the real life.
Marsol, L y. Nicolas, A

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 10:16

Hi maru!
Thank you for posting on LearnEnglish Teens! I've noticed that there are two of you using the same account. Please could you create separate accounts for each of you? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people. Thanks so much for doing this.
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens Team

up
0 users have voted.
ana9701's picture
0x
0x
ana9701 5 September, 2018 - 16:52

The book of life it is a story like a legend of two childrens, Manolo and Joaquín, who live in a traditional Mexican town and compete for the love of María. Behind that bet are also two spirits, La Muerte and Xibalba, who will take part for each young man, tipping the scales for some of them to know who will conquer the sweet Maria.
We would recommend it because it is a very beautiful story and has a very striking message

Lara, Analia, Carolina

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20504x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 09:23

Hi ana9701 
Welcome to LearnEnglish teens! Please can you create separate accounts for each user? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people. Thanks a lot and I hope you all enjoy the site! :)
Tina  (LearnEnglish Teens team)

up
0 users have voted.
GlebGrunichev's picture
0x
0x
GlebGrunichev 21 June, 2018 - 12:18

"Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom" is a new fantasy action film. Owen Grady (Chris Pratt ) and Claire Dearing (Bryce Dallas Howard) are going to save dinosaurs. This is a really fantastic film.
In the beginning of the plot, Eli Mills is organising an expedition to save dinosaurs. But when they save the dinosaurs, there are some problems. Also, the grand-daughter of the company's director understands a terrible thing about herself! But the dinosaurs ran away. What is going to happen next?
This film is a rebirth of the first part. It is very amazing because it is really hard to make 3D models of dinosaurs and the volcano. The actors perform well, too.
I really advise you to see this film because it is interesting and sometimes spooky, but the combination makes the best films.

up
1 user has voted.
Jonathan - Coordinator's picture
105873x
779x
Jonathan - Coor... 22 June, 2018 - 03:19

Good review, GlebGrunichev. This film is showing at the cinema now. I'll check it out :)

Jonathan (LearnEnglish Teens Team)

up
0 users have voted.
linolo09's picture
863x
17x
linolo09 23 September, 2016 - 08:17

The last movie I watched was Pacific rim. It's an incredible movie with an intense plot and likeable characters. It's about a rift that opened in the pacific ocean and let out monsters called 'Kaiju's'. These monsters begin to destroy bigger cities that are close to the ocean and humanity is forced to fight back. They do this by creating giant robots that are called 'Jaeger's'. The control a Jaeger you need to link your brain to the machine but you can't do it alone. So you do it with a partner. The story revolves around one of these Jaeger pilots. I really liked this movie and can't wait to see the next one.

up
79 users have voted.
Tony2003's picture
3344x
23x
Tony2003 1 November, 2015 - 10:16

Recently,I do not go to watch any movies since 2014,but if I remember the name,that movie is''Furious 7''
I do not remember anything,so,sorry

up
74 users have voted.
AnaB's picture
27278x
144x
AnaB 15 June, 2014 - 10:29

The last movie I have seen is The Hunger Games"Catching Fire" .
The Hunger Games"Catching Fire" was released in 2013. The main characters are Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen and Josh Hutcherson as Peeta Mellark.
A year after winning the 74th Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen and her partner, Peeta Mellark must go on what is known as the Victor's Tour wherein they visit all the districts. But befoore leaving, Katniss is visited by President Snow who fears that Katniss defied him a year ago during the games when she chose to die with Peta. With both Katniss and Peeta declared the winners, it is fueling a possible uprising. He tells Katniss that while on tour she better try to make sure that she puts out the flames or else everyone she cares about will be in danger. But unfortunately she fails to do that. So Snow decides to enact what is known as the Quarter Quell, the right to make a change to The Hunger Games, which he is allowed to do every 25 years. He decide to hold an edition of the Hunger Games wherein previous winners will compete again. Their mentor Haymitch thinks their best chance to survive is form an alliance with some of the others. They decide to alig n themselves with Finnick and his..
This movie is great.
At the first view it doesn't look so interesting. Well I throw that it was boring. But I sat and start to watch. I was so enthused. You won't regret if you watch it. :)

up
79 users have voted.
sona's picture
11332x
124x
sona 15 May, 2016 - 13:47

Wow,it sounds like a fantastic film . I have watched the first movie of 'Hunger Games' and I was impressed with its wonderful plot and excellent special effects. Unfortunately,I haven't watched the second film for different reasons. However,relating to your review I am sure it is a film to watch. Thank you for sharing this information and what's important ,thank you for not revealing the end.

up
75 users have voted.