Look at the film review and do the exercises to improve your writing skills.

Total votes: 255
Language level: 

Discussion

What films have you seen lately? What did you think? Tell us about a film you've seen. But don't give away the ending!

Comments

Thu's picture
0x
-1x
Thu 1 September, 2019 - 08:57

I was watching a film called "The Secret Life Of Pets 2", it's a cartoon, of course, pets also are a cartoon. It's about the pets that can talk, and the main characters are two brown dogs.
These two boys are Max and Duke, and the owner has just had a son. One of 2 dogs-Max, at first he was afraid to live with the children, but the son of the owner is too cute. And then he realizes he was fall in love with him, and the baby needs to go to the kindergarten. Max very afraid about his safety, because in part 1, he was sawing the outside world is too dangerous. He started to become too outrageous until he met a brave dog. His name is Chicken, that's a funny scene. Duke told Chicken about the status of Max, so then he started training for Max. And in the end, Max let the baby go.
There are many other funny scenes in this film. You guys can watch, too. That will be a great choice. ; >

up
1 user has voted.
ayala's picture
0x
0x
ayala 23 August, 2019 - 01:54

Review of End Game, Avengers

In this movie “End Game” the avengers come together to defeat Thanos once and for all after losing.
After half of the universe was eliminated the avengers tried to find a solution but for that they need the help of ant-man. He gaved them the clue to travel in time and so collect the different gems of infinity to restore the universe.
In mi opinion the movie gives us a final tribute to the entire saga and at the same time such an incredible moments like when Capitan America raises the hammer of Thor and Hulk and Iron Man carry the gauntlet of infinity.
They also created the greatest crossover of the entire history and make the audience feel connected to the movie at that point that make us feel there.
The only thing i didn’t like of the movie is that they left behind some main characters and focus on others with not big importance but apart from that it was the best movie i saw in my life. I really enojoyed it and i hope they continue to make more movies like this.

up
1 user has voted.
Walther22Wolff's picture
0x
0x
Walther22Wolff 11 July, 2019 - 10:53

"Shazam!" It's a modern superhero plot, it could be one of the best movies of the year if it were not with so much competition. The character Billy Batson desperately searches for his mother, where in this version of the superhero, he lost her at the age of eight years old at a fair, although they tell her that she left him and he keeps looking for her. Despite being different from the comic version, and in addition to having an unoriginal argument, it shows that you do not need it to stand out and get to make a place among someone's favorite movie. Billy Batson acquires his powers when a former sorcerer seeks someone pure of heart to save the world of the 7 sins, which have been released, can he with that responsibility?
The soundtrack manages to immerse yourself in the film, adapting to the scene and creating an environment to concentrate better on what happens
The performance of each actor comes out of the everyday of the superheroes although we find common scenes, others manage to show us a film a little different from the normal ones of the subject
I would recommend "Shazam!" Especially to people who are fanatical about superheroes and who, really, will be amazed

up
0 users have voted.
Frangarrio's picture
0x
0x
Frangarrio 9 July, 2019 - 22:53

Godzilla King of the Monsters is an American film belonging to the genres of action, fantasy, monsters and adventures. Directed by Michael Dougherty and starring Kyle Chandler, Vera Farmiga, Millie Bobby Brown, Bradley Whitford, Sally Hawkins, Charles Dance, Ken Watanabe and Zhang Ziyi.
Godzilla is a Japanese monster that first appeared in 1954. Since then, it has been part of the entertainment culture of the most famous monsters in cinema. Another huge monster called King Ghidorah, known as the great three-headed dragon faces Godzilla, to discover who is the true king of monsters.
Cryptozoologists from the Monarch agency try to confront a group of huge monsters. Between all they try to resist to the attacks of Mothra, Rodan or King Ghidorah. These creatures will do everything possible to survive, endangering people on the planet. This film will bring together four major threats that ensure a unique battle. The third film was created by "Legendary Pictures" and "Warner Bros." I like Godzilla movies because it has great effects, and amazing 3D models of titans with amazing moments. It is one of the most famous films of 2019.

up
1 user has voted.
Zholiktop's picture
0x
0x
Zholiktop 7 February, 2019 - 13:26

Avengers: Infinity war is the best action and superhero film in recent years. Released in 2018, it stars Robert Downey Jr., Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Evans and other actors as superheroes and Josh James Brolin as villain Thanos.

The plot involves a titan Thanos who wants to collect all of infinity stone in order to arrange genocide, but avengers want to prevent it and safe not only Earth, but all galaxy too. Infinity glove can control power of infinity stones and if Thanos collects all stone pieces, he can destroy the worlds at the click of a finger. Can they stop him before he clicks?

There is good atmosphere in the film. Every soundtrack is impressive and relevant to scene. The acting is on the highest level. There are a lot off excellent special effects.

I would recommend this film to everyone, especially if you are keen on action and superhero films and a fan of Marvel studio.

up
0 users have voted.
francopereira12's picture
0x
0x
francopereira12 21 November, 2018 - 01:33

Toy Story is one of the best animation films in fifteen years. Released in 1955 and produces by Pixar. It star Tim Allen as Buzz Lightyear, Tom Hanks as Sheriff Woody and John Morris as Andy Davis.
The plot involves a family that moves out of the house and the toys make a meeting to prepare the last details of the move. At the end of this meeting remember that this day was Andy´s birthday and they are afraid of being replaced by others. Are they going to be replaced by others?
This movie was the most seen in the United States and Canada. In total collect more than 191 million dollars in both countries and more than 131 at the international level. The soundtrack is exciting and relaxing and includes the theme song “You have got a friend in me” performed by Randy Newman. This performance is complicated and the characters life is hard because he has to interact with toys.
I recommend this movie if you like animation films and it is very good to reflect on how people relate to each other because it is not always with people.

up
1 user has voted.
facu10huracan's picture
0x
0x
facu10huracan 16 November, 2018 - 23:18

Film review: real steel

Real Steel is a science fiction story released in 2011. It stars Hugh Jackman as “Charlie”, an ex-boxer that participates in fights between robots, and Dakota Goyo as Max Kenton, Charlie´s son.
The plot involves a father that does not have a good relationship with his son and participates in robots´ fights to earn money. This father has the chance to meet his son again and spends some time with him because Max´s aunt who has the custody of the kid is on holiday. Max finds a little robot called Atom and trains him with the father. Will Atom become the best fighting robot? Will Charlie recover his child?
The film is set in one location, the American state of Michigan. The soundtrack is outstanding and some of the artists who participate are Eminem, Royce, Tom Morello, among others. The acting is also of a very high standard and the acting of Dakota is fantastic because he is very committed with his role.
I would highly recommend real steel, especially if you are keen on action or science fiction films. It you will not get up from your seat until it's over and I am sure you will not stop watching it.

up
1 user has voted.
Giuligiunti35's picture
0x
0x
Giuligiunti35 15 November, 2018 - 12:19

MATILDA
Matilda is one of the best comedy and fantasy films.Released in 1996, it stars Mara Wilson is a girl who develops extraordinary mental capacity and Pam ferris in the roll of trunchbull, is the villain in this film.
The plot involves Matilda is a lovely girl with a good temper, her parents, Harry and Zinnia are irresponsible because they do not take care of her properly. This is because they were busy in their work and in their frivolous lives, they hardly noticed that they had a daughter.Can will he get ahead?
The film is set in United States. The soundtrack is run by david newman, and the most popular son is “Little Bitty Pretty One”.
his acting was impeccable despite his age.
I would highly recommend Matilda,especially if you like comedies and magic.

up
0 users have voted.
Pilar's picture
0x
0x
Pilar 14 November, 2018 - 23:50

The Duff
The film ´The Duff´ is based on the book with the same name by Harry Styles. The filmed was directed by Ari Sandel and Kody keplinger. It starts Mae Whitman as Bianca and Robbie amell as Wes Ley, her neighborhood.
The film is set in the United States in 2014 but is premier in 2015. It was filmed on location the United States and is a comedy film.
The Duff is about student of high school who is in the last year and her group of friend put she a name ´the girl ugly and fat´. She realizes about that, so Bianca asks for help to her pretty and sporty neighborhood to change her look and get a date with Toby, her platonic relationship.
I strongly recommend that film because it has drama and comedy. It´s a good film for teens because it has a good message for high school students.

up
0 users have voted.
AGUSTINAP's picture
0x
0x
AGUSTINAP 13 November, 2018 - 00:41

Wall-e is one of the best Robots film. Directed by Andrew Stanton and produced by Walt Disney Pictures and Pixar Animation Studios. The plot follows a robot called WALL E, who was designed to clean the rubbish that covers the Earth after it was ruined by human beings. He falls in love with EVA, another robot type, which is sent to the planet to investigate if there are signs of life. Once she reaches her goal, EVA quickly goes to the ship called, Axiom. WALL E follows her to outer space.
The film was set in United Estates. The Soundtrack is from the 2008 Disney-Pixar film of the same name by Walt Disney Records on June 24, 2008.
I would higly recomend Wall-e if you like the adventures and robots. Iam sure you ‘ll like it a lot

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20505x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 13 November, 2018 - 09:17

Hi AGUSTINAP.
Thanks for your comment but I have edited it because the information was copied from another website or put through a translation tool, and this breaks our house rules.
Just a reminder:
  • Do not share content that is not yours
  • Only add content that is your original work.
  • Do not copy ideas or information without saying where it came from.
Could you tell us about topic in your own words? Thanks,
Name Tina (LearnEnglish Teens Team)
up
0 users have voted.
AGUSTINAP's picture
0x
0x
AGUSTINAP 15 November, 2018 - 01:56

Thanks, yes. I want to talk about the soundtrack of the film that it was 2008 Disney-Pixar of the same name. Directed by Walt Disney Records on June

up
0 users have voted.
Delfi236's picture
0x
0x
Delfi236 8 November, 2018 - 21:56

Review English Cinderella(2015)
Cinderella (2015) it’s a retelling of the classic fairy tale, the classic animated movie, in live action form. Starring by Lily James and directed by Kenneth Branagh I found this movie very entertaining.
The movie follows the story of Ella whose father remarries after her mom’s death. Ella welcomes her new stepmother and her daughters, Anastasia and Drisella into her home. But when her father suddenly passes away, she discovered the cruelty of her new family.
One day she meets a stranger in the woods, she didn’t know the he is really a prince; Ella feels that she has met a kindred soul. It appears as if her fortunes may be change when the palace sends an open invitation for all the ladies to attend a ball.
Ella’s stepmother forbids her to attend, but as all fairy tales help is near as a kindly woman…
I love this film, I doubt it can be bettered. I highly recommend it, because it is well acted and it’s fun for the whole family. Finally I can say that Cate Blanchett, Lily James and Helena Bonham Carter were amazing in their roles.

up
0 users have voted.
JereGior's picture
0x
0x
JereGior 8 November, 2018 - 18:38

I think the best movie of action and science fiction was Pacific of the Rim. It was released in 2013 and it stars Charlie Hunnman as a machine’s pilot or Jaeger, Raliegh Becket and Mana Ashido in the role of Mako Mori, his machine´s couple pilot.

The plots involve Kaijus who are a big beasts. They try to destroy the world and the couple of Becket and Ashido, and other Jaegers, has to prevent this from happening. There are a lot of action scenes and epic fights as the Jaegers pursues they around the world.

This film was set in Hong Kong and the soundtrack is so exciting and includes part of the song of the main theme created by Ramin Djawadi. The acting is also of computer effects and Ashido bring his life with a tragic performance.

I would highly recommend Pacific of the Rim, especially for the lover of action, robots and fights, and can be recommended for person who are interesting on the science and machines. It will you on the edge of your seat until the end and I am sure you are going to like it and see it again.

up
0 users have voted.
mariela's picture
0x
0x
mariela 25 October, 2018 - 19:17

Artificial Inteligence is one of the best cince fiction films. Released in 2001, it stars Halley Joel Osmet as David who is a robot-boy and Brendan Gleeson in the role of Lord Johnson-Johnson, the villan in this film.

The plot involves a flood produced by the global warming. The necessity of food produce that the cybertronics's company make robots-children who can love to their adoptive families. Can these families love too?

The film is set in the location of United Estates. The soundtrack includes the music performed by John Williams who won an award. The acting is impressed and Jude Law won a golden globe for the best actor in the film because his performance is excellent.

I would higly recomend Artificial Intelligence, if you are a big fan of cience fiction films and the robots. I'm pretty sure that you won't regret of watch this film.

up
0 users have voted.
iglesiasjuli's picture
0x
0x
iglesiasjuli 13 November, 2018 - 22:26

The terminator is one of the best action and science fiction flims. Released in 1984, it stars Arnold Shwarzenegger, the villian in this film.
The plot involves a terminator is a killer cyborg sent trought time to kill Sarah Connor. Kyle Reese, a soldier also sent from the future with the mission to protect Sarah. Can he get it?
The film is set in the location of Los Angeles, California and The soundtrack includes music reformed by Brad Fiedel. The acting is very good and because of the success they become more.
I would highly recommend the terminator if you like robots and fights. Im sure you will not regret waching it.

up
0 users have voted.
lauti_delma's picture
0x
0x
lauti_delma 6 September, 2018 - 12:09

Review the book of life
The book of life is a movie from 2014 and is one of the best animated films.
The story begins with a group of five children punished and a museum guide, this teaches a secret room dedicated to Mexican folklore, within which is "the Book of Life." She tells them a story about the book about a relationship between the three friends Manolo, Joaquin and Maria. Manolo to know that Maria leaves for Spain to educate himself, concentrates on his career as a bullfighter, but this later will not be possible because of his sensitive heart.
the story takes place in the city of "San Angel", the world of the remembered and the world of the forgotten.
I recommend this film, because it has two teachings that caught my attention, the first is true love never dies and the second is anyone can die, but you need courage to live.

Lautaro

up
1 user has voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20505x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 10:03

Hi lauti_delma,
Thanks for your comment but I have had to edit it because the information was copied from another website or put through a translation tool, and this breaks our house rules.
Please remember to add content that is your original work and do not copy ideas or information without saying where it came from.
Why not have a go and tell us about the topic in your own words?
Thanks,
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens Team)
up
0 users have voted.
milotoffalo's picture
0x
0x
milotoffalo 6 September, 2018 - 12:04

We are talking a book of life.
this movie is about two best friends fight for the love of a woman, one of them is a musician and other is a soldier.Different from everything that has been seen in animated films. I really liked the animation style and the story itself.It's a wonderful Mexican movie. I liked a lot.
Milo Toffalo

up
0 users have voted.
nmmpm2018's picture
0x
0x
nmmpm2018 5 September, 2018 - 17:30

REVIEW OF “THE BOOK OF LIFE”
“The book of life” is a cartoon and rom-com film. Released in 2014 created by Jorge R. Gutierrez. The story begins with a group of five children punished and a museum guide. The museum guide showed a mistery book, the book of life. The book talking about history of Mexico.
One of the histories talking about three friends, Manolo Sanchez, Joaquin Mondragon and Maria Posadas. Manolo and Joaquin competing over the love of Maria. The tradition of the Sanchez is be a bullfighter, but Manolo wants be a musician.
The film is set in many locations: San Angel, The land of the remembered and The land of the forgotten. The soundtrack is very cool, accompanies the movie.
I recommend it because it is a movie for all ages, is very funny and emotional at the same time.

Nicolas M. and Martin P.M.

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20505x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 10:08

Hi nmmpm2018 
Welcome to LearnEnglish teens! I have noticed that there are two of you using the same account to write your comments. Please can you create separate accounts for each user? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people.
Thanks a lot and I hope you all enjoy the site!
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens team)

up
0 users have voted.
milotoffalo's picture
0x
0x
milotoffalo 5 September, 2018 - 17:20

this movie is about two best friends who fight for the love of a woman, one of them is a musician and the other is a fighter. I was impressed with its wonderful plot and excellent special effects.

up
1 user has voted.
durama's picture
0x
0x
durama 5 September, 2018 - 17:18

Review of "The Book of Life"

The book of Life is a film of Manolo, a youngish man who wants to fulfil the expectations of this family but also to follow his heart. He goes on an adventure It's an animated film. In this film Manolo figt with Joaquín( his friend) for the hand of María. Mateo and Nicolas

up
1 user has voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20505x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 09:43

Hi durama,
Welcome to LearnEnglish teens! Thanks for your comment but I have edited it because the information was copied from another website or put through a translation tool, and this breaks our house rules. Just a reminder:
Do not share content that is not yours
Only add content that is your original work.
Do not copy ideas or information without saying where it came from.
Could you tell us about topic in your own words?

I also noticed that there are three of you using the same account - please can you create separate accounts for each user? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people. Thanks a lot and I hope you all enjoy the site!
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens team)

up
0 users have voted.
maru's picture
0x
0x
maru 5 September, 2018 - 17:13

We are talking about "The Book of Life". The movie is the best animated film what we have ever see. This is about a legend that happens in Mexico where the world of the dead was divided into two. The world of the forgotten and the world of the remembered. This story covers different situations that the characters live. These charactes are Manolo; who descendant of bullfigthers, Maria; daughter of the mayor of the town, Joaquin; son of the hero of the town.They are friends since they were childhood. What will happen between them?
We recommend this movie because, the scenary and re special effects are very incredible! The characters are well producer and also their environment. The movie is very entertaining and funny. Anyway, the movie has some morals for the real life.
Marsol, L y. Nicolas, A

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20505x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 10:16

Hi maru!
Thank you for posting on LearnEnglish Teens! I've noticed that there are two of you using the same account. Please could you create separate accounts for each of you? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people. Thanks so much for doing this.
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens Team

up
0 users have voted.
ana9701's picture
0x
0x
ana9701 5 September, 2018 - 16:52

The book of life it is a story like a legend of two childrens, Manolo and Joaquín, who live in a traditional Mexican town and compete for the love of María. Behind that bet are also two spirits, La Muerte and Xibalba, who will take part for each young man, tipping the scales for some of them to know who will conquer the sweet Maria.
We would recommend it because it is a very beautiful story and has a very striking message

Lara, Analia, Carolina

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20505x
180x
Tina - Coordinator 10 September, 2018 - 09:23

Hi ana9701 
Welcome to LearnEnglish teens! Please can you create separate accounts for each user? In our House Rules we ask you not to share your account with other people. Thanks a lot and I hope you all enjoy the site! :)
Tina  (LearnEnglish Teens team)

up
0 users have voted.
GlebGrunichev's picture
0x
0x
GlebGrunichev 21 June, 2018 - 12:18

"Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom" is a new fantasy action film. Owen Grady (Chris Pratt ) and Claire Dearing (Bryce Dallas Howard) are going to save dinosaurs. This is a really fantastic film.
In the beginning of the plot, Eli Mills is organising an expedition to save dinosaurs. But when they save the dinosaurs, there are some problems. Also, the grand-daughter of the company's director understands a terrible thing about herself! But the dinosaurs ran away. What is going to happen next?
This film is a rebirth of the first part. It is very amazing because it is really hard to make 3D models of dinosaurs and the volcano. The actors perform well, too.
I really advise you to see this film because it is interesting and sometimes spooky, but the combination makes the best films.

up
1 user has voted.
Jonathan - Coordinator's picture
105873x
779x
Jonathan - Coor... 22 June, 2018 - 03:19

Good review, GlebGrunichev. This film is showing at the cinema now. I'll check it out :)

Jonathan (LearnEnglish Teens Team)

up
0 users have voted.

Pages