Finding a home

Look at the newspaper adverts and do the exercises to practise and improve your reading skills.


Do the preparation exercise first. Then read the adverts and do the other exercises.


Do this exercise before you read.


Finding a home


A: Quiet flat in Greenwood

  • 2 bedrooms, large kitchen
  • Near shops and restaurants
  • £600 a month

Phone 07348 0848153

B: Small 3rd-floor flat in central London

  • 1 bedroom
  • 2 minutes from train station
  • £650 a month

Phone 020 933 9458

C: House available in Hoburn from end of September

  • 3 bedrooms, small garden
  • Near the university
  • £1000 a month

Phone 07122 7476933


Do you live in a house or a flat?

Language level
Average: 4.5 (6 votes)
Personal online tutoring
EnglishScore Tutors is the British Council’s one-to-one tutoring platform for 13- to 17-year-olds.


Submitted by cat28 on Fri, 03/30/2018 - 06:47

I live in first-floor flat with garden. I want to move to a big house!!
Profile picture for user Ahjeen

Submitted by Ahjeen on Mon, 02/26/2018 - 19:47

I LIVE WITH MY SISTER I WANT MY OWN ROOM. I'M 9 YEARS OLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Profile picture for user Jo - Coordinator

Submitted by Jo - Coordinator on Wed, 02/28/2018 - 08:37

Hi Ahjeen,

Thanks for your comments on LearnEnglish Teens. You mentioned that you are nine years old. I'm sorry to tell you that the Teens site is for students from 13 to 17 years old, so we can't publish any more of your comments.

But do you know LearnEnglish Kids? This is the site for students of your age group and you can join and comment there. The address is:

Best wishes and good luck with your studies!

Joanna (LearnEnglish Teens team)

In reply to by Ahjeen

Profile picture for user Ahjeen

Submitted by Ahjeen on Sat, 01/13/2018 - 12:31

I live in a lovely house!
English courses near you