Film review

Look at the film review and do the exercises to improve your writing skills.

Instructions

Do the preparation exercise first. Then do the other exercises.

Image
Discussion

What's your favourite film? Why do you like it?

Personal online tutoring
EnglishScore Tutors is the British Council’s one-to-one tutoring platform for 13- to 17-year-olds.

Comments

Submitted by shinta on Mon, 10/17/2022 - 15:20

Hi!! My favorite film is EVANGELION. It was made in Japan. I knew this film, when I played game. The game was collaboration with EVA. I want to tell you! EVANGELION is very interesting!

Submitted by Turtle08 on Tue, 08/30/2022 - 11:44

My favourite film is "Inception". In this film people can go inside dreams. One day a pearson tells Cobb, which is the main character, that if he does it he can go back to the USA, where his children live, because he had to escape from that country because of an accuse. I give this film ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐. I think you should watch it.
Profile picture for user FlowerQueen

Submitted by FlowerQueen on Tue, 06/07/2022 - 08:48

Hi My favourite films are: Misfit (German movie) ☆☆☆☆ because it was a really cooo film, but not very good. The Sound of Music (American movie) ☆☆☆☆☆ because it was so cool, and the things were happened truly. Your Name (Japanese Anime) ☆☆☆☆ because it was very exciting because Mitsuha and Taki got a time switch for each other. Fly Away Home (Canadian movie) ☆☆☆☆ because Amy gifted the geese a home. Hospital Playlist (Korean serie) ☆☆☆☆☆ because it was funny and interesting. So, I like many films :D FlowerQueen~♡

Submitted by bettyboop on Mon, 08/16/2021 - 01:07

The Lovely Bones is one of the pleasant supernatural thriller drama movie. Inspired by Alice Sebold’s 2002 novel and directed later by Peter Jackson on 2009. Starring Saoirse Ronan as a sweet 14 years old girl Susie Salmon and Stanley Tucci in the role of George Harvey, the villain in this film. The plot involves as Susie Salmon urging the need to avenge upon her own tragic death from an idealized serial killer miniaturist. There are a lot of intriguing moment when she is witnessing the events on earth from the “in-between” as her family turned their beloved house as a tomb of a grief. As she is around the clock, will she be able to find the lights in her darkest place? The movie itself was partially based on a true story. While the novel classifies itself as fiction but actually it roots lie in reality. Eventhough the story and its message were generally bland and cloying sentimentality which led to an upsetting experience, the visual effects for the “in-between” was incredibly eye-catching. The soundtrack is remarkably touching as it brings imaginary, dreamy, surreal and otherworldly feelings with mixed-emotion. I would recommend this movie, The Lovely Bones especially for supernatural thriller lovers out there. I’m sure the unpredictable plot will caught you off guard at the very end. Betty (17 years old, Malaysia)
Profile picture for user COOLIONELA

Submitted by COOLIONELA on Fri, 04/23/2021 - 10:54

Minuscule I should think.

Submitted by CSalem7 on Mon, 01/25/2021 - 04:56

Hacksaw Ridge Biographical war drama film, 2016 I like the casting of the film. They are correct and spot on for choosing Andrew Garfield as Desmond Doss to portray his Heroism and bravery, because I think It is suitable for Andrew, as compared to his past roles playing Spider-Man in The Amazing Spider-Man. When I first saw It, I thought It was so amazing and I was blown away. It Is inspiring to all.Even the fact that it was based on a true story is truly incredible. I cried pretty much throughout the entirety of this film, it got to the point where I was shaking during the war scenes. seriously such a fantastic moving film. It changes my perspective on war greatly. I give "Hacksaw Ridge" ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ and I definitely recommend everyone to go watch this Movie. Claudio ( 17 years old, Manado)
Profile picture for user Tina - Coordinator

Submitted by Tina - Coordinator on Tue, 01/26/2021 - 08:52

Hi CSalem7,
Thanks for your comment but I have edited it because the information was copied from another website and this breaks our house rules.
Just a reminder:
  • Do not share content that is not yours
  • Only add content that is your original work
  • Do not copy ideas or information without saying where it came from.

Could you tell us about topic in your own words? Thanks,
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens Team)

In reply to by CSalem7

Profile picture for user hlnoroh_

Submitted by hlnoroh_ on Tue, 01/19/2021 - 05:34

Clouds Biographical musical drama film, 2020 Zach Sobiech, a young musicians with months to live, follows his dream of making a music album to make the most of the time he has left. I love this movie, the first time I watched this film, I cried. Fin Argus very deep into his role in playing the character Zach. I really like the story, there are many meanings and messages behind this film. Oh yeah, don't forget the song "Clouds", it really touched me.✨. I think this film is very good. I give "Clouds" ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ and I very recommend this film, if you have time, watch this movie sometime. (Helen, 16, Manado)

Submitted by Nooname on Sat, 01/16/2021 - 14:23

I like comedies,in fact my favourite film is johnny english
Profile picture for user Kostantinus

Submitted by Kostantinus on Fri, 01/15/2021 - 08:20

My favourite films are all parts of Hobbit and The Lord of the rings, because I like fantasy movie very much. I also like adventure movies, fantasy characters and mysterious landscapes and forests. The actors acting those movies are very professional, beautiful and handsome. By the way, I read all books of these stories. It's amazing and super interesting. During reading you dive into that atmosphere and imaging like you are one of the character. This feeling is wonderful and I recommend everyone to read these books. Enjoy it! See you around!)
Profile picture for user rafaelyeshua

Submitted by rafaelyeshua on Fri, 12/18/2020 - 18:47

i am eleven years old, but i like all the back to future's films, they are very good, the story is very good and when i wacthed the first film, i didn't know that the film was old XD, i think the films were a little bit

Submitted by editor_rachael on Fri, 12/18/2020 - 20:01

Hi rafaelyeshua,

 

Thanks for your comments on LearnEnglish Teens. You wrote that you are 11 years old. This website is specially for teenagers aged 13-17 years old. This means we can't publish any more of your comments, but you can still use the website and do the activities :-)

 

You can also use the LearnEnglish Kids website! This website is for children aged 5-12, so if you join this website, you can also write comments. You can find it here:
www.britishcouncil.org/learnenglishkids

 

We hope you have fun learning English with our websites!

 

Rachael
LearnEnglish Teens team

In reply to by rafaelyeshua

Submitted by Lula on Thu, 11/05/2020 - 23:14

Alice in Wonderland Fantasy, Adventure; 2010 Alice Kingsleigh was a young girl when she first visited the Underworld. Now she is 19 years old but everything she saw before, lives in her dreams as nightmares. Her life takes a turn for the unexpected when she recognises a peculiar white rabbit running through the shrubs the day she was getting proposed, and decides to chase it. Suddenly she falls inside a hole under a tree that takes her directly to Wonderland. Now she has to find out what her true faith is. Personally, I love this film because I was used to watch it everyday in my childhood. the actors make a great performance in their roles such as Johnny Depp as the Mad Hutter, Helena Bonham Carter as the Res Queen and Anne Hathaway as the White Queen. I highly recommend this film. I give Alice in Wonderland five stars

Submitted by karenpach on Tue, 08/04/2020 - 23:59

To All the Boys I´ve Loved Before Romance, 2018 Lara Jean is a romantic girl , who write five secret letters from the boys with whom she fell in lovea diferent stage of her live, but she never intented to send them.By mistake those letters are sent. I love the actors in this film, Lana Conor and Noah Centineo are fantastic as Lara Jean and Peter Kivinsky. My favorite chacter is Peter Kivinsky, because he is the king of guys that i like, cute and romantic. I think the pilot of this film is very good. I recommed them so that they go and watch it soon!

Submitted by Desstp on Tue, 06/09/2020 - 22:13

Coraline Animation, fantasy and mystery, 2009 The movie is about coraline a girl who moves to another city and department, where she meets Wybe who gives her a doll that she finds to be exactly like her. Coraline begins to explore and finds a small door in her apartment which will take her to another world more fun and with another mother who has buttons on her eyes, but not everything will be fun. The movie is very interesting and also its mysterious and funny characters, it is impressive all the details it has but especially the story. I give Coraline 5 stars, look at her now and you will be fascinated.

Submitted by Brau_M on Tue, 05/19/2020 - 01:21

Hello, my favorite movie is Spiderman (2002), is an action and science fiction movie (i think). Tell about the adventures of a boy who is bit by a experimental spider in a laboratory, and how it give him super powers like throw spiderwebs of his wrists, super strong, etc. And tell how he take responsability of these powers, using them for fight crime, and using his intelligence, beat his more dangerous enemies or super enemies.

Submitted by rain_ran_r on Thu, 04/23/2020 - 00:47

Little Women Classic 2019 In 1860s New England town, Jo, Jo's three sisters, and their mother were living in Massachusetts. Their father went and joined the war. Although they were not rich, they still had a warm and sweet life together. Day by day, with happiness, sadness, anger, naughty children became young ladies. They learned a lot through time pass, and tried their best to reach their goal. My favorite character is Jo March, at first, she doesn't look like a young lady, you'll feel the things she has done are 'boyish', and also you might feel that she is unkind. But when you continue to read the book, you'll find out she is kind and brave. The movie takes you through whole book by using another way to tell the story. I'll give Little Women five starts, go and watch it! I also recommend you read the book too.

Submitted by JuAntonio on Wed, 03/18/2020 - 18:52

My favorite movie is Back to the Future 2. Its about a teenager that travels to the future to help his son and daugther. But he fails and has to fix the mistakes he 've done.

Submitted by JaOgonek on Wed, 02/05/2020 - 19:58

My favourite film is "To all the boys I loved before". This is romantic film, tell about the girl who sent love letters to five boys. In my opinion is fantastic film. I encourage you to watch.

Submitted by Makam on Fri, 01/31/2020 - 11:33

My favourite film is batman, because it's very fascinating.

Submitted by Elife on Wed, 01/29/2020 - 22:10

My favorite film is Pirate of the Caribbean. Because, I think this film is very funny and fantastic.

Submitted by lancer on Wed, 11/13/2019 - 20:23

Youth Comedy, 20xx Audrius is young researcher. He loves science and research. Oneday he meet a girl, called Jenny. That day he thought she is worker. He feels he loves her. But actually she is daughter of a rich man. My favorite characters are Audrius and Jenny. Audrius is not only pure but also good at science. Jenny is beautiful and smart young lady. :) I give 5 starts to this film and I recommend this film that everyonce will like. Thanks.

Submitted by Aaron on Tue, 10/22/2019 - 03:20

spider-man action, fantasy, 2019 this film is about spider-man teams up with nick fury and fellow superhero mysterio to stop four massive elemental creatures. each representing earth, water,air, and fire. I love this film because I love tom holland actor. when I was a childhood, I usually watch spider-man movies. so I would like to give 5 out of 5 stars!

Submitted by hsroh on Thu, 07/25/2019 - 12:47

Avengers Endgame Si-fi Fantasy, 2019 April This film is about the Avengers collecting the infinity stones to find missing Avengers members who were vanished by Thanos and his Alien army. I like this film because I love Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans and Tom Holland as Iron Man, Captain America and Spider Man's acting! Also it's from my favorite Movie stadium 'Marvel'! So l would like to give 5 out of 5stars! *o*

Submitted by Bossemyman69 on Tue, 05/05/2020 - 08:46

Yeah it was my favorite movie until I watched star wars but it still hold a special place in my heart as one of the most epic movies ever!

In reply to by hsroh

Submitted by MohamedS2007 on Thu, 07/04/2019 - 08:09

My favorite film is Aladdin. It's now trending and known as the best movie in 2019. The important actors of the film are Noami Scott,Mena Massoud and of course the genie Will Smith I would hope they would do Aladdin 2 because I really enjoy the movie

Submitted by Bossemyman69 on Tue, 05/05/2020 - 08:48

Star wars episode IX is better Avengers Endgame is better Joker is better Knives out is better Captain Marvel is better Spiderman far from home is better even birds of prey is better

In reply to by MohamedS2007

Submitted by Thu on Sat, 06/22/2019 - 10:05

I often watch the TV show on Zing TV, I like the show name, Running Man. Especially in China, it's 6 seasons already. I like the cartoon of course, and comedy. Why? Causes I'm a kid. : ) I love The Life Secret Of Pets 1 and 2, I wonder why it's so cute and funny. And the time remaining, I spend for sleep, eat and study MORE ENGLISH. : (
Profile picture for user Youjiro

Submitted by Youjiro on Mon, 01/14/2019 - 10:28

pirate of the Caribbean. adventure My favorite film is pirate of the Caribbean .I have embraced Pirate of the Caribbean series . Jack sparrow visit unique island . Series of pirate of the Caribbean start 2003 . My favorite story is "world end " .

Submitted by gimeneznerea on Mon, 01/07/2019 - 15:07

My favourite movie is '3metres sobre el cel'. It is a dramatic film and it was made in 2010 after the book. This story is about a couple and their problems, they have a lot of problems with their families. She is a rich girl and her parents dindn't want that she was the girlfriend of this boy. In my opinion this film is recomended for young people and women but not for men because is a film of love and is drama, so a lot of men prefer action films.

Submitted by chafaiilyass on Sat, 01/05/2019 - 14:37

My favorite movie is "the skyscraper", it was created on July 13, 2108. He deals with the fact that he will ford an old fbi leader of the rescue group and now he works as a security consultant for skyscrapers. They will give you a very intextable tablet that can control the entire skyscraper. I in a Chinese mission finds that the tallest and safest building in the world suddenly flared up, and there his family is found while he finds those responsible of the fire that stole the tablet that. RECOMMEND THIS FILM IF LIKE FILMS ACTION.

Submitted by Anna_Superstar on Wed, 12/05/2018 - 14:25

I love the actors in this film. They are fantastic as Sherlock, Watson and brother Sherloks. My favorite character is Sherlock because he is handsome men and he plays role Sherlock very good

Submitted by nuriadelgado on Thu, 11/29/2018 - 12:38

Divergent It is a science fiction movie created on April 30, 2014. The movie is about a city where people are divided by factions. The protagonist is called Trish and goes through difficulties because it does not fit into any faction. He is in love with Tobias and together they will face the people who want to kill them. I love Trish because she is super brave and pretty. She is one of the best actresses I have seen. I think it's a good movie and you should see it.

Submitted by torrileonardo on Tue, 02/20/2018 - 18:41

my favourite film is cars because it's done very well and I like how walt disney designed it

Submitted by iglesiasjuli on Tue, 11/13/2018 - 22:24

The terminator is one of the best action and science fiction flims. Released in 1984, it stars Arnold Shwarzenegger, the villian in this film. The plot involves a terminator is a killer cyborg sent trought time to kill Sarah Connor. Kyle Reese, a soldier also sent from the future with the mission to protect Sarah. Can he get it? The film is set in the location of Los Angeles, California. The soundtrack includes music reformed by Brad Fiedel. The acting is very good and because of the success they become more. I would highly recommend the terminator if you like robots and fights. Im sure you will not regret waching it.

In reply to by torrileonardo

Submitted by ragnar05 on Mon, 02/19/2018 - 19:34

My favourite film is "Guardians of the galaxy" (2014). I love this film because the story is excellent and the actors are very good. My favourite characters are Groot and Rocket.

Submitted by lapina on Wed, 02/14/2018 - 17:27

My favourite film is Lemony Snicket because the plot it's very interesting and the characters are fantastic! The main characters are: Violet, Klaus, Sunny, Josephine, Conte Olaf and Montgomery Montgomery (They are Violet, Klaus and Sunny's uncles) . I love the character of Conte Olaf because he is very funny and his look it's strange. I also love the character of Josephine because she is awkward and she live in a danger house! I suggest see this fantastic film!!

Submitted by Christo on Wed, 02/14/2018 - 16:47

i like comedies, in fact my favourite film is "Quo Vado", because is very funny, in my opinion Checco Zalone's films are between the best films in the world

Submitted by Chiara_05 on Wed, 02/14/2018 - 16:44

My favourite film is ''la custode di mia sorella'' because is very emotional, the plot is really moving and i love the characters.

Submitted by LapoV16 on Wed, 02/14/2018 - 16:35

My favourite film is Paranormal Activity because it's very scary and every time I look at it I shudder

Submitted by FraFracsn05 on Wed, 02/14/2018 - 15:59

My favourite film is "La scuola più bella del mondo" because it' s really amusing and because is a comedy film, my favourite genre. It's a italian film and many actors are children and recite really good!

Submitted by Ladolfi17 on Wed, 02/14/2018 - 15:22

My favourite film is Jumanji because it's very funny and i love characters and the plot is interesting. It's an adventure, fantastic, comedy and action film. It's excellent.

Submitted by Orange29 on Wed, 02/14/2018 - 13:09

My favourite film is Quo vado? I think this film is very funny. I recommend to see him

Submitted by Didiqwerty on Wed, 02/14/2018 - 07:28

My favourite film is Benvenuti al Sud because it's really amusing!

Submitted by Elebrn05 on Sun, 02/11/2018 - 20:22

My favorite film is Harry Potter because I love the characters and because I like the movie plot. It's fantastic!

Submitted by Maida1805 on Sun, 02/11/2018 - 17:41

My favourite film is Frankestein Joniur. It is a parody of an horror film. I love it because its actors and the director are very fantastic and funny! Did you see it? I think it is the best film in the world!!!! ;-)

Submitted by Mirco on Sun, 02/11/2018 - 15:14

My favourite film is Narnia because talk about a magical world and i like the part where the main character kill the queen.

Submitted by marzo2005 on Sun, 02/11/2018 - 14:58

My favorite film is Star Wars. The film is about fight bitween GOOD,that is represent buy Luke Skywalker,and EVIL,that is represent buy Darth Vader. The film is set in far,far galaxy.

Submitted by Judo05 on Sun, 02/11/2018 - 09:45

My favourite film is "Quo Vado ?" I like because is very funny and I like because it isn't long.
English courses near you