A website review

Look at the website review and do the exercises to improve your writing skills.

Instructions

Do the preparation exercise first. Then do the other exercises.

Reading

A website review

Technology review: www.lyricstraining.com

One of my favourite websites is lyricstraining.com. It’s great because you can learn English while you listen to your favourite songs. You choose a song and then listen to the song and complete the lyrics. You can also watch the video of the song.

The good points include the fact that there are lots of up-to-date groups you can listen to such as The Script or One Direction. In addition, you can choose the level: beginner, intermediate or expert, depending on your level of English. Another good feature is that you can repeat a line of the song as often as you want, until you know the missing word. Also, the website is very easy to navigate and you can listen to songs in different languages, for instance in Spanish, German and Italian.

One of the drawbacks is that some songs aren’t on the website. Another bad point is that there is a lot of advertising on the website. However, you can just ignore it.

To sum up, I think this is an excellent website if you like music and you want to improve your English. You should check it out!

Discussion

What type of websites do you like best?

Personal online tutoring
EnglishScore Tutors is the British Council’s one-to-one tutoring platform for 13- to 17-year-olds.

Comments

Submitted by py on Tue, 06/01/2021 - 22:34

My favourite website is one where you can learn how to use a word in a sentence

Submitted by Rhylan on Sun, 04/10/2022 - 18:08

What type of websites do you like best? I like websites which I can learn something. For example in LearnEnglish Teens website I improve my English skills. This is more useful for me. Likewise netflix and another websites for films or serial I like too. In this kind of website I also have for useful. For instance when I am bored I watch a movie or serial and I relax.

In reply to by py

Profile picture for user Andrii

Submitted by Andrii on Fri, 04/16/2021 - 14:04

My favourite wesites are https://www.youtube.com/ and https://www.tiktok.com/. I like watching videos.

Submitted by Msharymnn on Fri, 10/16/2020 - 15:08

my favorite website is gofile because it can transefer teh big files into links and qr codes fastly i used it a lot because always i want to send big files and it take time so it's very helpful i recommend everyone to use it

Submitted by Msharymnn on Fri, 10/16/2020 - 14:51

My favorite website is http://learnenglishteens.britishcouncil.org as I am learning and developing myself through updating my vocab and it is really helpful to me because English is not my first language, therefore, I had to struggle a lot earlier but now I am improving.

Submitted by Mamou1 on Wed, 08/19/2020 - 10:14

Personally I don't have a website that I like best because I visit many website for my interest like youtube where I can listen many music videos or wattpad to read many books or write a book. and also British council where I can improve my English.

Submitted by helenblack on Sat, 07/25/2020 - 15:21

I love a lot of websites such as British Council, pinterest, youtube, wattpad, duolingo but mostly websites which inform about my favorite films, series and books. For example, wizardingworld.com. There are a lot of interesting information about Harry Potter which my favorite film series.

Submitted by Toha on Sat, 06/27/2020 - 11:43

I love many websites. Thanks to your working!
Profile picture for user Giovannichoi

Submitted by Giovannichoi on Thu, 06/25/2020 - 08:29

I love many websites, including LearnEnglish Teens, but I like this the most: 'Breaking News English Lessons Easy English World News Materials'. Breaking News English is a normal website of Sean Banville, but he made this page open for everyone. The first good point is you can read the hot issues all over the world, and you can choose levels from 0 to 6. You can learn English while reading this, for you can do so many activities with it - There are some under this comment. You can read the same articles which is the lower level than you read, if you can't understand some parts in it. I'm reading those articles in 6 levels, and it's easy queesy lemon squeesy! You should try some, and the other websites which Sean Banville managed, such as 'Lessons on Movies', 'Business', and 'Famous People'. You must check this out! It will help you improving your English. Find some interesting articles in it, and try reading. I have no doubt about it that you'll add this webpage in your bookmark!!!!!!! (these are the activities which is in the Breaking News English). Listening • North American & British English • 20 questions • 5-speeds • Listen & spell • Dictation READ • 4-speed reading • Jumble 1 • Jumble 2 • No spaces • Text jumble • Quiz GRAMMAR • Gap fill • The / An / A • Prepositions • Word order SPELL • Consonants • Vowels • Missing letters • Initals only • No letters • Blank letters • Hangman WORDS • Flash cards • Word pairs • Matching • Crossword • Missing words • Gap fill

Submitted by Elife on Thu, 02/06/2020 - 23:46

My favourite website is Youtube, because I can listen to music and watch many movies in various languajes, also I can find there so much important information.

Submitted by Makam on Wed, 02/05/2020 - 04:16

My favourte website is youtube.

Submitted by lancer on Sat, 11/23/2019 - 17:54

Everyday i visit this site - learnenglishteens.britishcouncil.org to learn English. This website provide an environment for us to learn English. Many people of the world visit here. One reason I favorite this is that there are many sub sections such as reading, writing and listening in Skills menu. We can select one of them as we want. In the section, it shows several levels for example beginner, intermediate and advanced. so we have a lesson depends on our level. In addition, there are much contents in a lesson. It includes preparation, filling the blank with appropriate words and exercises. The points they have to improve includes the fact is that this site is a little old. It's not fashionable. I'd like this website to wear good clothes - beautiful design more :) To sum up, I love this site and will attend this website often. All students! Please login and learn English here.

Submitted by nicosori on Sat, 08/24/2019 - 12:19

This history is very nice I like it

Submitted by chien_01 on Tue, 03/10/2020 - 09:04

This is not history. It is an essay concerning about your favourite websites.

In reply to by nicosori

Submitted by MohamedS2007 on Fri, 07/05/2019 - 08:30

My Favourite website is Youtube because they give me some variety of solutions for me to fix things.I could also watch some movies,videos clips and songs.I did also enjoy the 1 million subscribers gold play button. Thanks to the Youtube Company for developing such an useful app!

Submitted by Thu on Thu, 07/04/2019 - 11:03

My favourite website is http://learnenglishteens.britishcouncil.org because it can improve my listening, reading and writing. You know, all of the worlds is to learn English so English is very popular. I can also play English games and watch English videos so I very love it : )
Profile picture for user Youjiro

Submitted by Youjiro on Fri, 01/18/2019 - 09:44

my favourite websites are British council and write & improve.com . I use those two websites to improve my English skill. British council can learn English basic knowledge that need to understand English. There are divided four part of category ,that makes eazy to use website . write & improve.com can improve writing skill. It specified writing topic .I classified best writing website because It gives my feedback and check misspells.

Submitted by editor_rachael on Sat, 01/19/2019 - 16:23

Hi Youjiro,

 

We're so happy to hear we're one of your favourite sites! We hope you find it really useful :-) and have fun learning English!

 

Rachael
LearnEnglish Teens team

In reply to by Youjiro

Profile picture for user Batgirl

Submitted by Batgirl on Mon, 07/16/2018 - 18:32

My favorite websites are https://ru.pinterest.com/ and https://weheartit.com/. There I can find lots of inspiring photos, articles, and ideas for DIYs that I can easily make at home. I love them so much and if you are a creative person you can visit them.
Profile picture for user KirGil

Submitted by KirGil on Wed, 03/07/2018 - 15:35

As I want to be a frontend-developer (a kind of web-developing) all websites of this topic are interesting for me, but in my opinion the best of them is https://htmlacademy.ru/ . Team of this website always tells something new about web-developing. And they have the best courses for this topics "HTML, CSS and JavaScript" , "Node.js", "PHP" at the RuNet (In my opinion).
English courses near you