Look at the film review and do the exercises to improve your writing skills.

Language level: 

Discussion

What's your favourite film? Why do you like it?

Comments

CSalem7's picture
0x
1x
CSalem7 25 January, 2021 - 04:56

Hacksaw Ridge
Biographical war drama film, 2016

I like the casting of the film. They are correct and spot on for choosing Andrew Garfield as Desmond Doss to portray his Heroism and bravery, because I think It is suitable for Andrew, as compared to his past roles playing Spider-Man in The Amazing Spider-Man. When I first saw It, I thought It was so amazing and I was blown away. It Is inspiring to all.Even the fact that it was based on a true story is truly incredible. I cried pretty much throughout the entirety of this film, it got to the point where I was shaking during the war scenes. seriously such a fantastic moving film. It changes my perspective on war greatly.
I give "Hacksaw Ridge" ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ and I definitely recommend everyone to go watch this Movie.
Claudio ( 17 years old, Manado)

up
0 users have voted.
Tina - Coordinator's picture
20534x
202x
Tina - Coordinator 26 January, 2021 - 08:52

Hi CSalem7,
Thanks for your comment but I have edited it because the information was copied from another website and this breaks our house rules.
Just a reminder:
  • Do not share content that is not yours
  • Only add content that is your original work
  • Do not copy ideas or information without saying where it came from.

Could you tell us about topic in your own words? Thanks,
Tina (LearnEnglish Teens Team)

up
0 users have voted.
hlnoroh_'s picture
2x
2x
hlnoroh_ 19 January, 2021 - 05:34

Clouds
Biographical musical drama film, 2020

Zach Sobiech, a young musicians with months to live, follows his dream of making a music album to make the most of the time he has left.

I love this movie, the first time I watched this film, I cried. Fin Argus very deep into his role in playing the character Zach. I really like the story, there are many meanings and messages behind this film. Oh yeah, don't forget the song "Clouds", it really touched me.✨. I think this film is very good.

I give "Clouds" ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ and I very recommend this film, if you have time, watch this movie sometime.

(Helen, 16, Manado)

up
1 user has voted.
Kostantinus's picture
75x
233x
Kostantinus 15 January, 2021 - 08:20

My favourite films are all parts of Hobbit and The Lord of the rings, because I like fantasy movie very much. I also like adventure movies, fantasy characters and mysterious landscapes and forests. The actors acting those movies are very professional, beautiful and handsome. By the way, I read all books of these stories. It's amazing and super interesting. During reading you dive into that atmosphere and imaging like you are one of the character. This feeling is wonderful and I recommend everyone to read these books. Enjoy it! See you around!)

up
0 users have voted.
rafaelyeshua's picture
31x
55x
rafaelyeshua 18 December, 2020 - 18:47

i am eleven years old, but i like all the back to future's films, they are very good, the story is very good and when i wacthed the first film, i didn't know that the film was old XD, i think the films were a little bit

up
0 users have voted.
editor_rachael's picture
28x
42x
editor_rachael 18 December, 2020 - 20:01

Hi rafaelyeshua,

 

Thanks for your comments on LearnEnglish Teens. You wrote that you are 11 years old. This website is specially for teenagers aged 13-17 years old. This means we can't publish any more of your comments, but you can still use the website and do the activities :-)

 

You can also use the LearnEnglish Kids website! This website is for children aged 5-12, so if you join this website, you can also write comments. You can find it here:
www.britishcouncil.org/learnenglishkids

 

We hope you have fun learning English with our websites!

 

Rachael
LearnEnglish Teens team

up
1 user has voted.
Lula's picture
0x
1x
Lula 5 November, 2020 - 23:14

Alice in Wonderland
Fantasy, Adventure; 2010
Alice Kingsleigh was a young girl when she first visited the Underworld. Now she is 19 years old but everything she saw before, lives in her dreams as nightmares. Her life takes a turn for the unexpected when she recognises a peculiar white rabbit running through the shrubs the day she was getting proposed, and decides to chase it. Suddenly she falls inside a hole under a tree that takes her directly to Wonderland. Now she has to find out what her true faith is.
Personally, I love this film because I was used to watch it everyday in my childhood. the actors make a great performance in their roles such as Johnny Depp as the Mad Hutter, Helena Bonham Carter as the Res Queen and Anne Hathaway as the White Queen.
I highly recommend this film. I give Alice in Wonderland five stars

up
0 users have voted.
karenpach's picture
0x
1x
karenpach 5 August, 2020 - 00:59

To All the Boys I´ve Loved Before
Romance, 2018
Lara Jean is a romantic girl , who write five secret letters from the boys with whom she fell in lovea diferent stage of her live, but she never intented to send them.By mistake those letters are sent.
I love the actors in this film, Lana Conor and Noah Centineo are fantastic as Lara Jean and Peter Kivinsky. My favorite chacter is Peter Kivinsky, because he is the king of guys that i like, cute and romantic.
I think the pilot of this film is very good. I recommed them so that they go and watch it soon!

up
0 users have voted.
Desstp's picture
0x
1x
Desstp 9 June, 2020 - 23:13

Coraline
Animation, fantasy and mystery, 2009
The movie is about coraline a girl who moves to another city and department, where she meets Wybe who gives her a doll that she finds to be exactly like her. Coraline begins to explore and finds a small door in her apartment which will take her to another world more fun and with another mother who has buttons on her eyes, but not everything will be fun.
The movie is very interesting and also its mysterious and funny characters, it is impressive all the details it has but especially the story.
I give Coraline 5 stars, look at her now and you will be fascinated.

up
0 users have voted.
Brau_M's picture
0x
1x
Brau_M 19 May, 2020 - 02:21

Hello, my favorite movie is Spiderman (2002), is an action and science fiction movie (i think). Tell about the adventures of a boy who is bit by a experimental spider in a laboratory, and how it give him super powers like throw spiderwebs of his wrists, super strong, etc. And tell how he take responsability of these powers, using them for fight crime, and using his intelligence, beat his more dangerous enemies or super enemies.

up
0 users have voted.
rain_ran_r's picture
18x
16x
rain_ran_r 23 April, 2020 - 01:47

Little Women
Classic 2019

In 1860s New England town, Jo, Jo's three sisters, and their mother were living in Massachusetts. Their father went and joined the war. Although they were not rich, they still had a warm and sweet life together. Day by day, with happiness, sadness, anger, naughty children became young ladies. They learned a lot through time pass, and tried their best to reach their goal.

My favorite character is Jo March, at first, she doesn't look like a young lady, you'll feel the things she has done are 'boyish', and also you might feel that she is unkind. But when you continue to read the book, you'll find out she is kind and brave. The movie takes you through whole book by using another way to tell the story.

I'll give Little Women five starts, go and watch it!
I also recommend you read the book too.

up
0 users have voted.
JuAntonio's picture
2x
3x
JuAntonio 18 March, 2020 - 18:52

My favorite movie is Back to the Future 2. Its about a teenager that travels to the future to help his son and daugther. But he fails and has to fix the mistakes he 've done.

up
1 user has voted.
JaOgonek's picture
5x
1x
JaOgonek 5 February, 2020 - 19:58

My favourite film is "To all the boys I loved before". This is romantic film, tell about the girl who sent love letters to five boys. In my opinion is fantastic film. I encourage you to watch.

up
2 users have voted.
lancer's picture
12x
0x
lancer 13 November, 2019 - 20:23

Youth
Comedy, 20xx

Audrius is young researcher. He loves science and research. Oneday he meet a girl, called Jenny.
That day he thought she is worker. He feels he loves her. But actually she is daughter of a rich man.

My favorite characters are Audrius and Jenny.
Audrius is not only pure but also good at science.
Jenny is beautiful and smart young lady. :)

I give 5 starts to this film and I recommend this film that everyonce will like.

Thanks.

up
0 users have voted.
Aaron's picture
1x
0x
Aaron 22 October, 2019 - 04:20

spider-man
action, fantasy, 2019
this film is about spider-man teams up with nick fury and fellow superhero mysterio to stop four massive elemental creatures. each representing earth, water,air, and fire. I love this film because I love tom holland actor. when I was a childhood, I usually watch spider-man movies. so I would like to give 5 out of 5 stars!

up
0 users have voted.
hsroh's picture
2x
0x
hsroh 25 July, 2019 - 13:47

Avengers Endgame
Si-fi Fantasy, 2019 April
This film is about the Avengers collecting the infinity stones to find missing Avengers members who were vanished by Thanos and his Alien army.

I like this film because I love Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans and Tom Holland as Iron Man, Captain America and Spider Man's acting! Also it's from my favorite Movie stadium 'Marvel'!

So l would like to give 5 out of 5stars! *o*

up
1 user has voted.
Bossemyman69's picture
3x
11x
Bossemyman69 5 May, 2020 - 09:46

Yeah it was my favorite movie until I watched star wars but it still hold a special place in my heart as one of the most epic movies ever!

up
1 user has voted.
MohamedS2007's picture
0x
0x
MohamedS2007 4 July, 2019 - 09:09

My favorite film is Aladdin. It's now trending and known as the best movie in 2019. The important actors of the film are Noami Scott,Mena Massoud and of course the genie Will Smith I would hope they would do Aladdin 2 because I really enjoy the movie

up
0 users have voted.
Bossemyman69's picture
3x
11x
Bossemyman69 5 May, 2020 - 09:48

Star wars episode IX is better Avengers Endgame is better Joker is better Knives out is better Captain Marvel is better Spiderman far from home is better even birds of prey is better

up
1 user has voted.
Thu's picture
27x
-1x
Thu 22 June, 2019 - 11:05

I often watch the TV show on Zing TV, I like the show name, Running Man. Especially in China, it's 6 seasons already. I like the cartoon of course, and comedy. Why? Causes I'm a kid. : ) I love The Life Secret Of Pets 1 and 2, I wonder why it's so cute and funny. And the time remaining, I spend for sleep, eat and study MORE ENGLISH. : (

up
0 users have voted.
Youjiro's picture
19x
0x
Youjiro 14 January, 2019 - 10:28

pirate of the Caribbean.
adventure
My favorite film is pirate of the Caribbean .I have embraced Pirate of the Caribbean series .
Jack sparrow visit unique island . Series of pirate of the Caribbean start 2003 . My favorite story is "world end " .

up
0 users have voted.
gimeneznerea's picture
0x
0x
gimeneznerea 7 January, 2019 - 15:07

My favourite movie is '3metres sobre el cel'. It is a dramatic film and it was made in 2010 after the book. This story is about a couple and their problems, they have a lot of problems with their families. She is a rich girl and her parents dindn't want that she was the girlfriend of this boy. In my opinion this film is recomended for young people and women but not for men because is a film of love and is drama, so a lot of men prefer action films.

up
0 users have voted.
chafaiilyass's picture
0x
0x
chafaiilyass 5 January, 2019 - 14:37

My favorite movie is "the skyscraper", it was created on July 13, 2108.
He deals with the fact that he will ford an old fbi leader of the rescue group and now he works as a security consultant for skyscrapers.
They will give you a very intextable tablet that can control the entire skyscraper. I in a Chinese mission finds that the tallest and safest building in the world suddenly flared up, and there his family is found while he finds those responsible of the fire that stole the tablet that.

RECOMMEND THIS FILM IF LIKE FILMS ACTION.

up
0 users have voted.
Anna_Superstar's picture
0x
0x
Anna_Superstar 5 December, 2018 - 14:25

I love the actors in this film. They are fantastic as Sherlock, Watson and brother Sherloks. My favorite character is Sherlock because he is handsome men and he plays role Sherlock very good

up
0 users have voted.
nuriadelgado's picture
0x
0x
nuriadelgado 29 November, 2018 - 12:38

Divergent
It is a science fiction movie created on April 30, 2014.
The movie is about a city where people are divided by factions. The protagonist is called Trish and goes through difficulties because it does not fit into any faction. He is in love with Tobias and together they will face the people who want to kill them.
I love Trish because she is super brave and pretty. She is one of the best actresses I have seen.
I think it's a good movie and you should see it.

up
0 users have voted.
iglesiasjuli's picture
0x
0x
iglesiasjuli 13 November, 2018 - 22:24

The terminator is one of the best action and science fiction flims. Released in 1984, it stars Arnold Shwarzenegger, the villian in this film.
The plot involves a terminator is a killer cyborg sent trought time to kill Sarah Connor. Kyle Reese, a soldier also sent from the future with the mission to protect Sarah. Can he get it?
The film is set in the location of Los Angeles, California. The soundtrack includes music reformed by Brad Fiedel. The acting is very good and because of the success they become more.
I would highly recommend the terminator if you like robots and fights. Im sure you will not regret waching it.

up
0 users have voted.

Pages