Wordshake

Play Wordshake and see how many points can you get in three minutes. Longer words score more points!

Instructions

Playing Rules

You are given a random assortment of 16 letters in a 4x4 grid and are set a time limit of 3 minutes. In that time you must spell as many words as possible. The words, of course must be real words, spelt correctly as checked against the word list of 52,000 words and must contain between 3 and 7 letters. A letter cannot be used twice in the same word.

When forming your word, you can select letters from any position as long as you follow the spelling order.

Scoring

Points are awarded depending on the number of letters in the word (the "Qu" cube counts as two letters).

3 letters = 1 point 4 letters = 2 points 5 letters = 3 points
6 letters = 4 points 7 letters = 7 points  

All words are acceptable as long as it can be found in Wordshake's word list. Plural nouns and verb tenses are all allowed. People's names, abbreviations, contractions, hyphenated words and foreign words are not accepted.

Discussion

How many points did you score in three minutes?

Topics
Personal online tutoring
EnglishScore Tutors is the British Council’s one-to-one tutoring platform for 13- to 17-year-olds.

Comments

Profile picture for user Kaity

Submitted by Kaity on Sun, 06/23/2019 - 07:56

only 34! I'll try again to have high score!!!!!!!! :))
Profile picture for user empty

Submitted by empty on Tue, 06/18/2019 - 05:29

wow ! I got 50 !

Submitted by MissBookWorm on Thu, 05/02/2019 - 17:50

I like this game because when I play it, I learn many new words.
Profile picture for user tsunami2011

Submitted by tsunami2011 on Wed, 04/10/2019 - 12:18

hello

Submitted by Askar100 on Sat, 02/09/2019 - 07:52

31 only

Submitted by QuocVietgay on Fri, 01/04/2019 - 13:18

easilly got 1267 in my first try!!! eat this losers!
Profile picture for user lifestar230

Submitted by lifestar230 on Mon, 10/08/2018 - 23:07

I can find letters right
Profile picture for user Hasiki

Submitted by Hasiki on Tue, 07/31/2018 - 01:29

ooops 51

Submitted by fm2k2 on Sat, 07/28/2018 - 15:51

56 points

Submitted by ngdduong on Sun, 06/03/2018 - 09:15

337!!! How did that?

Submitted by ngdduong on Sun, 06/03/2018 - 06:04

I am so lucky! I scored 263! Can anyone beat that?

Submitted by ngdduong on Sat, 06/02/2018 - 14:48

176 points! Highest point now!!!!!!!!!!!

Submitted by ngdduong on Sat, 06/02/2018 - 14:40

Now I got 115 points!!!

Submitted by ngdduong on Fri, 06/01/2018 - 15:32

My first game was 107 points!!!

Submitted by hantrinh on Thu, 03/15/2018 - 15:19

only 34?
Profile picture for user LadyLime7000

Submitted by LadyLime7000 on Sun, 02/04/2018 - 02:58

78 Yayyy!!!
English courses near you